Legislation Quick Search
11/11/2019 05:33 PM
Pennsylvania State Senate
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=S&SPick=20170&cosponId=21064
Share:
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2017 - 2018 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: December 5, 2016 02:52 PM
From: Senator Mario M. Scavello
To: All Senate members
Subject: Increasing Litter Fines
 
In the near future, I plan to re-introduce legislation (former SB 973 of 2015-16) that will increase fines for littering. I believe the current fine system is not a proper deterrent for this crime.

Currently, fines for littering under Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) are no less than $50 and no more than $300 for a first-time offense, and no less than $300 and no more than $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense.

Under this legislation, fines would be imposed according to the following schedule:
  • Littering of five pounds or less for the first offense: not less than $50 or more than $300
  • Littering of more than five pounds but less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the first offense: not less than $300 or more than $500
  • Littering of more than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet or more for the first offense: not less than $500 or more than $1,000
  • Littering of less than five pounds for the second and subsequent offense: not less than $100 or more than $500
  • Littering of more than five pounds but less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense: not less than $500 or more than $1,000
  • Littering of more than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense: not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000.
This legislation will also increase the littering fines outlined in Title 75 (Vehicles). The current fines in the Vehicle Code will be changed as follows:

  • Violations that occur in an easement purchased under the Agricultural Area Security Law are currently subject to a fine of $900. That penalty will be changed to not less than $900, nor more than $1,500;
  • Violations that occur in an agricultural security area are currently subject to a fine of $600. That penalty will be changed to not less than $600, nor more than $1,200; and
  • Violations that occur in any other area are currently subject to a fine of $300. That penalty would be changed to the following schedule:
    • Littering of five pounds or less for the first offense: $100
    • Littering of more than five pounds, but less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the first offense: $500
    • Littering of more than 100 pounds or more than 25 cubic feet for the first offense: $1,000
    • Littering of five pounds or less for the second and subsequent offense: $500
    • Littering of more than five pounds, but less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense: $1,000
    • Littering of more than 100 pounds or more than 25 cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense: $2,000.
If you have any questions regarding this legislation, please contact Christine Zubeck in my office at 717-787-6123 or czubeck@pasen.gov. Thank you for your consideration.








Introduced as SB431