Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
05/19/2024 07:52 AM
Pennsylvania State Senate
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2015 - 2016 Regular Session


Posted: January 26, 2015 02:21 PM
From: Senator David G. Argall
To: All Senate members
Subject: County Demolition Funding Program
In the near future, I will introduce enabling legislation that would allow counties to apply a fee through the Recorder of Deeds office of up to $15 for each deed and mortgage recorded to be used for a demolition program.

Currently, many counties across Pennsylvania are facing a major problem dealing with blighted properties. Some of these properties are beyond repair and are in need of demolition. Many counties lack these needed funds to tear down these eyesores and, in some cases, safety hazards.

This legislation would change the Record of Deeds Fee Law to add an additional fee on each deed and mortgage recorded to be used strictly for demolition within that county.

According to the Senate Urban Affairs and Housing Committee Final Report offered at the conclusion of last session, many advocates suggested that a lack of funding is the key issue that prevents sustained growth and ideal land use management in our communities. My goal is to provide counties with an opportunity to address this serious concern.

This legislation will be similar to Senate Bill 1427 of 2014, which was approved by the Senate Urban Affairs and Housing Committee. Co-sponsors of last session’s proposal included Senators Brewster, Kitchen, Washington, Williams, Kasunic, Pileggi, Wozniak, Solobay, Yudichak, Tartaglione and Brubaker.

Introduced as SB486