Legislation Quick Search
12/10/2023 08:24 AM
Pennsylvania State Senate
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2015 - 2016 Regular Session


Posted: December 23, 2014 01:56 PM
From: Senator Lisa M. Boscola
To: All Senate members
Subject: School Administration Drug Penalties
I plan to reintroduce two pieces of legislation that would increase the penalties for school administrators, teachers or employees convicted of drug possession or delivery on school property.

In 2007, a middle-school principal in my district was arrested as he sat at his desk with a glass pipe, $200 in marked money and crystal methamphetamine. He confessed to using and dealing drugs in his office and pleaded guilty to two counts of delivery of crystal meth and one count of possession with intent to deliver. He served a 2-year minimum sentence before receiving parole.

The following year, a maintenance worker in this same school district pleaded guilty to conspiring to sell cocaine on school property and received probation—with no jail time.

Schools are meant to be drug-free zones for our youth. We need to increase the penalties for those administrators, teachers or employees using or selling drugs inside of the schools. I invite you to join me as a co-sponsor of these bills.

Document #1

Introduced as SB168

Description: My first bill would amend Title 18 (Drug-free Zones) to impose an additional two years to an individual’s sentence as an aggravating circumstance.

This is a reintroduction of SB 89 from the previous legislative session.  Co-sponsors included: TARTAGLIONE, FONTANA, FARNESE, TEPLITZ, ALLOWAY and RAFFERTY.

Document #2

Introduced as SB169

My second bill would make such a conviction automatically include forfeiture of an individual’s public pension.

This is a reintroduction of SB 90 from the previous legislative session.  Co-sponsors included: TARTAGLIONE, FONTANA, FARNESE, TEPLITZ, ALLOWAY and RAFFERTY.