Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
06/15/2024 12:41 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2023 - 2024 Regular Session


Posted: April 25, 2023 02:29 PM
From: Representative Christina D. Sappey
To: All House members
Subject: Renaming the Pennsylvania Milk Marketing Board to the Milk Board
Senate Resolution 384 of the 2017-2018 Legislative Session directed the Legislative Budget and Finance Committee (LBFC) to conduct a study on past, present, and future issues impacting dairy producers and the dairy industry in Pennsylvania. As such, in September 2019, the LBFC completed the study and issued a report with recommendations for improving the industry.
One of the recommendations included in the study was to rename the Pennsylvania Milk Marketing Board (PMMB) to the Pennsylvania Milk Board.
The Milk Marketing Board is an independent administrative agency that primarily administers the Milk Marketing Law. While the board is responsible for the economic regulation of milk in the Commonwealth, it does not actually “market” milk in the sense of promoting, selling, or advertising it as a product. Therefore, this legislation would change the name to more accurately reflect the board’s duties and responsibilities. Please note that this legislation would not change any current regulations or implement any new regulations.
This legislation is a redraft of House Bill 1847 of last session, which passed the House by a vote of 197-1. House Bill 1847 was co-sponsored by Representatives T. Davis, Kenyatta, Pashinski, Stambaugh, Freeman, Howard, Neilson, Kim, and Struzzi.
Please join me in co-sponsoring this name change.

Introduced as HB1170