Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
07/14/2024 01:07 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20210&cosponId=36405
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications
NEW!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


House of Representatives
Session of 2021 - 2022 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: October 26, 2021 10:16 AM
From: Representative Meghan Schroeder
To: All House members
Subject: Determinate Sentences for DUI Suspended Licenses
 
In the near future, I intend to introduce legislation allowing the court to impose a determinate sentence for a violation under the Commonwealth’s Vehicle Code (Title 75) when a summary offense is charged and the maximum sentence of total confinement is 90 days or less. 

This legislative correction stems from a Supreme Court of Pennsylvania (Commonwealth vs. Eid) decision where a defendant’s sentence was vacated due to the applicable statute for Driving Under Suspension while one’s license is suspended related to a DUI only specifying a minimum sentence of 90 days and failing to set forth a lawful maximum sentence. The lower court in Eid’s case had imposed a sentence of 90 days to 6 months imprisonment in addition to a two-year probationary term. The offense, however, was a summary and the sentence exceeded the lawful maximum (no more than 90 days). The Court declined to speculate as to the Legislature’s intent regarding a maximum sentence and, therefore the court ruled that the statute was unconstitutionally vague and vacated Eid’s sentence.

This legislation therefore would allow for determinate sentences to be imposed if a person is driving on a DUI suspended license when they are not under the influence of alcohol or drugs (60 days for a first offense and 90 days for a second offense) and if a person is driving on a DUI suspended license and has alcohol or drugs in their system or refuses chemical testing for a DUI (90 days).

Please join me in supporting this legislation to make our roadways safer.

 



Introduced as HB2106