Legislation Quick Search
05/24/2022 08:18 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2021 - 2022 Regular Session


Posted: March 2, 2021 12:15 PM
From: Representative Ed Neilson
To: All House members
Subject: Tax Credits for Classroom Supplies
In 2017, Pennsylvania teachers reported spending, on average, $487 of their own money on items for their students and classrooms, as only 48 percent received discretionary funds from their school district or parent-teacher association for this purpose. 55 percent reported using their own money to purchase classroom library books. Across the nation, teachers in high-poverty schools spend almost $200 more of their own money on supplies than teachers in low-poverty schools. When teachers reach into their own pockets to purchase items for the classroom, not only does it put more pressure on these hardworking professionals, it also perpetuates the inequality between poor and wealthy districts.

That is why I am re-introducing legislation to provide a tax credit for teachers who have incurred personal expenses due to the purchasing of classroom supplies such as books, computers, software, and other needed materials. Each teacher who purchases covered items would be eligible for up to $500 in tax credits, and up to $15 million in tax credits could be awarded annually. With the challenging budgetary landscape teachers have faced in recent years, they continue to work hard to ensure every student has the tools they need to succeed. Therefore, it is only fair that we reimburse those teachers for their out-of-pocket expenses.

Please join me in supporting Pennsylvania teachers, as well as ensuring classrooms are optimally equipped for student achievement. Your consideration and co-sponsorship are appreciated.

Previous Co-Sponsors included Reps. Barrar, Murt, Schweyer, Gillen, Boback, McNeill, Bizzarro, Ravenstahl, McCarter, Quinn, Roebuck, Warren, Driscoll, Hershey and Delloso.

Introduced as HB1127