|Posted:||January 11, 2021 10:57 AM|
|From:||Representative Steven R. Malagari|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Increasing Penalties for Texting while Driving (formerly HB2132)|
|Distracted driving is the cause in one out of every ten driving deaths in the United States. The most common form of communication is now texting or messaging. The most common form of distracted driving involves texting. While it is currently illegal to text and drive in Pennsylvania, the current penalties for doing so are not prohibitive.
Other states are attacking this offense head on using a tiered system of penalties. Sadly, we are lagging behind. In Pennsylvania, the penalty for texting while driving is a meager $50 fine. I am introducing legislation to increase this penalty.
Under my bill, an individual found guilty of engaging in text-based communication while driving will be subject to the following:
· For a first offense, a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $400.
· For a second offense, a fine of not less than $400 nor more than $600.
· For a third or subsequent offense, a fine of not less than $600 nor more than $800, three points on their driver’s license, and a 90-day driver’s license suspension.
Join me in cracking down on texting while driving. Help keep our roads safe.