|Posted:||February 1, 2019 03:22 PM|
|From:||Representative Joshua D. Kail|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Motor Vehicle Proper Endorsement Fine (former HB 1239)|
|In the near future, I will be introducing legislation to increase the fine for driving a vehicle without the proper endorsement for that particular type of vehicle.
According to data from the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, there were 1,002 convictions for violations relating to classes of licenses in 2017. Currently, operating a vehicle without the proper class of license is deemed a summary offense and is punishable with a $25 fine, which is significantly lower than the fine for driving without any operator’s license.
My proposal is to amend the Vehicle Code to increase the fine to $200, which is equivalent to the fine for driving without an operator’s license. If the driver charged furnishes satisfactory proof of having previously held the proper class of license, and no more than six months have passed from the last date of renewal, than the fine shall remain $25.
Increasing the fine for operating a vehicle without the proper endorsement has been a legislative priority for A.B.A.T.E. of Pennsylvania and has recently been addressed in several other states. Michigan, for example, adopted legislation that implemented a fine of $500 for those in violation. Kansas also took steps to address this issue and it is now possible to have your motorcycle towed away if you are found operating the vehicle without the proper license endorsement.
Please join me in supporting this important legislation, which will bring the penalty more in line with the seriousness of the violation.
Introduced as HB384