Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
07/22/2024 07:41 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session


Posted: December 12, 2018 02:13 PM
From: Representative Ed Neilson
To: All House members
Subject: Minimum Wage Reform
Paying our workers enough to be customers creates real economic growth. Nothing is gained when families are forced to rely on government programs to subsidize insufficient wages. Yet, Pennsylvania remains behind 29 states and the District of Columbia in raising our minimum wage above the $7.25 federal rate. It is time for Pennsylvania to ensure our working families a living wage and in return boost the economy of the state.
To promote a fair economy and protect workers, I am forwarding a plan to increase the minimum wage rate in Pennsylvania gradually, to alleviate the burden on employers and small businesses. Sixty days after enactment, my legislation will raise the minimum wage rate to $9.50 per hour with small incremental increases every two months thereafter for a period of two years.
We have a duty as representatives of the people of Pennsylvania to advance this long overdue increase in Pennsylvania’s minimum wage rate in support of our workers and their families. Please join me in fighting for fair and equal pay for the people of our Commonwealth. They deserve our utmost effort.

Please join me in helping to improve our laws in Pennsylvania by co-sponsoring this legislation.

Previous Co-Sponsors: Caltagirone, T. Davis, Donatucci, Driscoll, Keller, Readshaw, Schweyer, Snyder, Sturla.

Introduced as HB405