|Posted:||April 9, 2018 10:24 AM|
|From:||Representative Angel Cruz|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Requiring Mental Health Notifications Be Reported to the Pennsylvania State Police within 72 Hours|
|In the near future, I plan to introduce two pieces of legislation requiring mental health notifications to be reported to the Pennsylvania State Police within 72 hours.
Currently, both the Uniform Firearms Act and the Mental Health Procedures Act require notification to the Pennsylvania State Police within seven days of mental health adjudication, treatment, involuntary commitment or treatment. By updating these acts to require notification within 72 hours, we are ensuring that reporting is done in a more timely fashion and that it aligns it more closely with similar reporting measures already in place.
Please join me in cosponsoring these pieces of legislation.
If you have any questions or concerns, please contact my Harrisburg office at 717-705-1925.
Introduced as HB2267
|Description:||Amend Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, Uniform Firearms Act, requiring notification of mental health adjudication, treatment, commitment, drug use or addiction to Pennsylvania State Police within 72 hours.|
Introduced as HB2266
|Description:||Amend the Act of July 9, 1976, known as the Mental Health Procedures Act, further providing for mental health review officer, requiring notification to Pennsylvania State Police within 72 hours.|