|Posted:||June 29, 2017 10:42 AM|
|From:||Representative Rosemary M. Brown|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Hands Free Driving|
|In the near future, I will be introducing legislation prohibiting calls on hand-held mobile telephones in Pennsylvania, except with the use of hands-free accessories while operating a moving motor vehicle. Also, no person under the age of 18 years of age shall use ANY hand-held mobile telephone, including one with a hands-free accessory while operating a moving motor vehicle. Exemptions for communicating with a hand-held mobile telephone would be permitted during emergency situations only if the vehicle is not equipped with hands-free technology. It would also permit emergency responders, while in performance of their official duties, to only use hand-held mobile telephones if their vehicles are not equipped with hands-free technology. The first offense for violating this law would be $50 and three (3) points to a license and $150 for a second or each subsequent offense.
The northeastern region of the Unites States including our border states of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maryland, Delaware, Vermont, New Hampshire and West Virginia all ban hand-held cell phone use. Representing a district on the border of both New York and New Jersey, I believe it is not only safer but also more consistent for drivers who frequently travel throughout these border states. While it is important to note and educate drivers that distraction is still present with the use of hands-free technology, removing the use of hand-held mobile telephones is a realistic, achievable and crucial step to help minimize this distraction and create safer driving conditions. I hope you will join me in co-sponsoring this legislation.
Introduced as HB1684