|Posted:||March 30, 2017 12:01 PM|
|From:||Representative Jim Marshall|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Motor Vehicle Proper Endorsement Fine|
In the near future, I will be proposing legislation to increase the fine for driving a vehicle without the proper endorsement for that particular type of vehicle.
In the last month, I heard from A.B.A.T.E. of PA that one of their legislative priorities for this session is to make the fine for having the wrong endorsement closer to that of driving without an operator’s license. While this is more common with operators of motorcycles, it also happens in other motor vehicles as well. Currently, the standard fine is $25 plus costs and surcharges. My proposal is to amend Section 1504, Classes of Licenses in the Vehicle Code (Title 75) to make the fine of up to $200 plus costs and surcharges. The fine for driving without an operator’s license is $200 plus costs and surcharges.
Recently, Michigan was experiencing the problem of having a large number of riders without proper endorsement and adopted legislation that would fine those in violation $500. Also in Kansas it is now possible to even have your motorcycle towed away if you do not have the proper endorsement to operate a bike.
Please join me in supporting this important legislation, which will make the penalty more in line with the seriousness of the violation.
Introduced as HB1239