Legislation Quick Search
01/27/2023 01:05 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2017 - 2018 Regular Session


Posted: February 16, 2017 01:55 PM
From: Representative Florindo J. Fabrizio
To: All House members
Subject: Updating Length of Stay in Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASCs) - Former HB2134
In the near future I will be reintroducing legislation that will align the length of stay in licensed Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASCs) with that of other states and federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) guidelines.

Ambulatory Surgery Centers provide high-quality care and exceptional patient satisfaction in a low-cost environment.

Ambulatory Surgery Centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are governed by rules and regulations written in the 1990s. While there have been advances in technology and innovations in the delivery of health care, Pennsylvania’s regulations have not been updated.

This legislation would align the time allotment to mirror CMS guidelines. Neighboring states of Delaware, Maryland, New York, Ohio, New Jersey and West Virginia along with the majority of States in the Union, parallel CMS length of stay parameters.

With the shift of care from inpatient to outpatient, Ambulatory Surgery Centers play a major role in the process. It is my hope that Pennsylvania is innovative and responsive to these changes as we continually strive to ensure Pennsylvania residents are recipients of exceptional care and service.

This legislation passed the House last session unanimously (203-0).

Please join me by adding your name as a co-sponsor of this important piece of legislation.

Former Cosponsors: Barbin; Bizzarro; Boback; Conklin; D. Costa; M. Daley; Davis; DeLissio; DeLuca; Diamond; Everett; Farry; Hahn; Hill; Kaufer; Kinsey; Kortz; Marsico; Matzie; McClinton; Mullery; O'Brien; Sonney; Thomas; Ward; and Youngblood

Introduced as HB1234