|Posted:||November 16, 2015 03:03 PM|
|From:||Representative Madeleine Dean|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Prohibiting Individuals with a Concealed Carry Permit to Carry While Under the Influence of Alcohol|
|In the near future, I will be introducing a bill that amends Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes to forbid holders of a concealed carry permit to carry a firearm while intoxicated in Pennsylvania.
As you know, Pennsylvania law allows citizens to carry a concealed firearm after obtaining a permit from their local sheriff’s department. Firearms and alcohol are both extremely dangerous when used improperly, and carrying a firearm while intoxicated greatly increases the risk of tragedy. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), carrying a weapon while under the influence is banned in at least fifteen states, including Ohio and Maryland.
This bill will not impact responsible gun use, in the same way our DUI laws do not interfere with responsible driving. Carrying a gun with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater will result in a summary offense, a $100 fine, and suspension of the person’s concealed carry permit for up to one year. A second or subsequent offense will result in a misdemeanor of the third degree, a $300 fine, and a suspension of the individual’s permit for at least one year or permanent revocation of the permit.
Once again, firearms can be, and too after are, deadly weapons, and as such, this is an issue that can affect all of us in every legislative district. Therefore, please join me in co-sponsoring this very important, common sense bill and help Pennsylvania follow in the footsteps of other states that have already banned the concealed carry of a firearm while intoxicated.
Introduced as HB2378