Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
06/17/2024 11:02 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20130&cosponId=14197
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications
NEW!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


House of Representatives
Session of 2013 - 2014 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: February 27, 2014 12:34 PM
From: Representative Kurt A. Masser
To: All House members
Subject: amending Crime Victims Act
 
In the near future, I will introduce legislation to amend the Crime Victims Act. This legislation will provide more money for services provided to victims by raising the costs assessed against offenders. It is important to note that the fees imposed under the Crime Victims Act have not been raised by the General Assembly since 2002.

According to the Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association, the amounts set 12 years ago are simply inadequate to meet the needs of crime victims. Without additional funding, the ability to serve the needs of victims will be eroded. Such services include helping victims compose victim impact statements, accompanying victims to court proceedings, making victims aware of the status of investigations and of bail and other decisions made by judges, and providing assistance with securing restitution from the offender.

Currently, those who are found guilty or are placed in a diversionary program must pay a cost of at least $60, while those who are adjudicated delinquent must pay a cost of at least $25. My legislation will raise the cost assessed on the guilty and those in a diversionary program by $50 and the cost assessed on those adjudicated delinquent by $10. Hence, under the legislation, a person found guilty of a crime will have to pay a cost of at least $110, while a person adjudicated delinquent will have to pay a cost of at least $35.

If you care to co-sponsor this piece, please contact Cindy Abbott at 260-6134.



Introduced as HB2134