Legislation Quick Search
12/04/2022 05:36 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2013 - 2014 Regular Session


Posted: January 23, 2013 11:09 AM
From: Representative Gerald J. Mullery
To: All House members
Subject: Amending the Act of October 9, 2008, known as the Scrap Material Theft Prevention ACT

To: All House Members

From: Representative Gerald Mullery


Subject: Request for Co-Sponsorship: Reintroduction of legislation—Amending Act 113 of 2008 to Increase Grading and Penalties for Scrap Yard Operators Involved in Metal Theft.

In the near future, I will be reintroducing my former House Bill 1810 of 2011, which would amend the Scrap Material Theft Prevention Act (Act 113 of 2008) Section 7 (Penalties) by increasing the grading for a first violation from a summary offense to a misdemeanor of the third degree, and increasing the fine from $2,500 to $5,000. My legislation also seeks to increase the grading for a second or subsequent violation from a misdemeanor of the third degree to a misdemeanor of the second degree, and increases the fine from $2,500 to $10,000.

Across Pennsylvania, restricted metals continue to be stolen and then bought by scrap yard operators despite the charges they face if caught. My legislation aims to increase the grading and penalties for scrap yard operators who buy restricted metals in hopes of deterring these individuals from committing these crimes. In addition, my bill would force the offenders to face increased jail time and higher fines. It is my hope that with harsher penalties in place, scrap yard operators will be further deterred from purchasing stolen materials. If you would like to co-sponsor this legislation, please contact Jo Ann Bucher in my Harrisburg office at 717-783-4893 or at JBucher@pahouse.net.

I hope you will join me in cosponsoring this legislation.

Previous Cosponsor: Bishop, V. Brown, Carroll, Curry, Daley, Donatucci, Galloway, Gingrich, Godshall, Helm, Kortz, Marshall, Mirabito, Mundy, Newman, Parker, Pashinski, Sainato, Tallman, White.

View Attachment

Introduced as HB745