Legislation Quick Search
08/12/2022 05:06 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2013 - 2014 Regular Session


Posted: January 8, 2013 03:16 PM
From: Representative Ryan P. Aument
To: All House members
Subject: Reintroduction of Legislation - Military Tax Withholding - Former House Bill 1274 ~ 2011-2012 Legislative Session
As you all know, any employer conducting business in Pennsylvania is required by law to withhold both the federal and state income tax from an applicable employee's pay.

However, the IRS Code contains a withholding exception that does not exist within Pennsylvania's Tax Reform Code. Under the IRS Code, an employer is not obligated to withhold federal taxes from certain military personnel. With this in mind, this proposed legislation is designed to update the Tax Reform Code in order to have it parallel the IRS Code by exempting employers from withholding tax from the following groups:
  1. Those serving in the armed forces in a designated combat zone during a period of combatant activity.
  2. Those that had served in the above capacity and are now hospitalized as a result of injury.
  3. Those serving in a military capacity as a result of a Federal call-up to active duty.
  4. Those serving in the civilian capacity outside of Pennsylvania in order to support those serving in the armed forces.
Please join me in my efforts to assist our service men and women. I encourage you to cosponsor this important piece of legislation.

Previous Cosponsors: Cutler, Baker, Barrar, Bear, Boyd, Caltagirone, Causer, Clymer, D. Costa, Cox, Creighton, Davis, Denlinger, Everett, Fabrizio, Fleck, Gabler, Geist, George, Gillen, Gingrich, Grell, Harkins, Harris, Hennessey, Hess, Hickernell, Hornaman, Hutchinson, Josephs, Kauffman, M. K. Keller, Knowles, Maher, Marshall, Marsico, Matzie, Metzgar, Millard, Miller, Moul, Murphy, Murt, O'Neill, Perry, Pyle, Quinn, Readshaw, Reichley, Rock, Sonney, Stern, Swanger, Tallman, Vulakovich, Lawrence, Rapp, Major, Petrarca, and Farry

View Attachment

Introduced as HB294