Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
04/25/2024 03:58 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2013 - 2014 Regular Session


Posted: January 7, 2013 09:49 AM
From: Representative Joseph F. Markosek
To: All House members
Subject: Cosponsorship of Legislation: Automotive Fuel Testing and Disclosure Program
In the near future, I will be reintroducing legislation (previously House Bill 1157) which establishes an automotive fuel testing and disclosure program, formally known as the Automotive Fuel Testing Act. Last session, the General Assembly passed legislation that permitted the Department of Agriculture to develop such a program. This legislation would require the Department to develop and maintain a program to ensure we are getting our money’s worth at the pump.

In the absence of such standards, the potential exists for low quality gasoline to be dumped into Pennsylvania. Consumers cannot be assured they are truly receiving what they are paying for at the pump, both from an octane level and from a quality perspective.

Pennsylvania has experienced several incidences of contaminated gasoline, including an incident in Erie, Pennsylvania, which affected more than 500 consumers, cost thousands of dollars of vehicle damage and ultimately required action from the Pennsylvania Attorney General. Through a quality and octane testing program, these occurrences could have been identified and corrected before being delivered to retail units.

Last session, this legislation was cosponsored by the following members: MARKOSEK, CALTAGIRONE, FABRIZIO, GEIST, GEORGE, KORTZ, KULA, LONGIETTI, MAHONEY, M. O'BRIEN, PASHINSKI, PETRARCA and DENLINGER.

View Attachment

Introduced as HB694