Legislation Quick Search
02/21/2018 08:19 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2015 - 2016 Regular Session


Posted: April 21, 2015 03:10 PM
From: Representative Brian Sims and Rep. Tina M. Davis
To: All House members
Subject: Equal Pay Legislation
In an effort to ensure equal pay to all employees, we plan to re-introduce House Bill 1890 of 2014. This legislation amends Act 694 of 1959 on the issue of wage equality.

Discrepancies in employee wages result from assorted factors, a main factor being gender. With this in mind, it is necessary to enhance the current Equal Pay Law to provide additional protections for all employees.

The enhancements are essential in assuring men and women receive equal pay for equal work and that all workers in the state are paid a wage based solely on their education, training and experience.

Under this legislation, employee protection is increased in the areas of discrimination, wrongful termination of employment, and anti-retaliation when an employee has filed a complaint against an employer. Further protection is afforded to employees that have discussed, inquired about, or disclosed wage information. Most importantly, factors considered in the defense of equal pay are more clearly defined, ensuring they are not based on gender-based differentials.

Including these measures in the Equal Pay Law will help to ensure that all employees are paid a wage based on the same equal considerations. Furthermore, the measures protect employees faced with a wage discrepancy, affording them the right to adequate restitution without fear of employer retaliation.

Prior session cosponsors: Molchany, Sims, Frankel, Cohen, Haggerty, Youngblood, Gainey, K. Boyle, Briggs, Bishop, Thomas, O'Brien, Parker, Schlossberg, Davidson, P. Costa, Swanger, Caltagirone, Bizzarro, Mundy, Bradford, Rozzi, Harhai, Mccarter, Mahoney, Deluca, Painter, Dermody, Brownlee, Schreiber, Davis, M. Daley, Donatucci, Kim, Santarsiero, Snyder, Waters, White, B. Boyle, Clay, Delissio, D. Miller, Dean, W. Keller, Neilson, Neuman, Ravenstahl, Toohil, Readshaw, Mackenzie, Sturla, Kortz, Matzie, Pashinski, Mcneill, Cruz, Galloway, Wheatley, Goodman, Harkins, Hanna, Markosek, Deasy, V. Brown, Freeman, and Miccarelli

We hope you will join us in co-sponsoring this important legislation.

Introduced as HB1160