Please wait while the document is loaded.

A00546
THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA
SENATE BILL
No.
435
Session of
2017
INTRODUCED BY BOSCOLA, RAFFERTY, COSTA, BLAKE, SCHWANK AND
YUDICHAK, FEBRUARY 27, 2017
REFERRED TO TRANSPORTATION, FEBRUARY 27, 2017
AN ACT
Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, in miscellaneous provisions, further providing for
snow and ice dislodged or falling from moving vehicle.
The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:
Section 1. Section 3720 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
ยง 3720. Snow and ice [dislodged or falling from moving
vehicle].
(a) Removal of snow and ice from a motor vehicle or motor
carrier vehicle.--
(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a
driver of a motor vehicle or motor carrier vehicle being
operated on a street or highway of this Commonwealth shall
make reasonable efforts to remove accumulated ice or snow
from the motor vehicle or motor carrier vehicle, including
the hood, trunk and roof of the motor vehicle or motor
carrier vehicle, within 24 hours after the cessation of the
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
falling snow or ice.
(2) Paragraph (1) shall not apply if:
(i) the driver of the motor carrier vehicle is en
route to a facility to remove accumulated ice or snow at
the time of the stop under paragraph (3); or
(ii) compliance with this section would cause the
driver of the motor carrier vehicle to violate any other
Federal or State law or regulation regarding workplace
safety or would be a threat to the health and safety of
the driver.
(3) A driver of a motor vehicle or motor carrier vehicle
who violates this subsection may be stopped on a street or
highway by a law enforcement officer if the law enforcement
officer believes the accumulated ice or snow may pose a
threat to persons or property.
(4) A driver of a motor vehicle or motor carrier vehicle
who violates this subsection shall be subject to a fine of
not less than $25 nor more than $75 for each offense
regardless of whether any snow or ice is dislodged from the
vehicle.
(b) Dislodged or fallen snow or ice.--When snow or ice is
dislodged or falls from a moving vehicle or motor carrier
vehicle and strikes another vehicle or pedestrian causing death
or serious bodily injury, the operator of the vehicle from which
the snow or ice is dislodged or falls and who is found in
violation of subsection (a) shall be subject to a fine of not
less than $200 nor more than [$1,000] $1,500 for each offense.
Section 2. This amendatory act shall be known as Christine's
Law.
Section 2 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
A00546 - 2 -
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30