THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

SENATE RESOLUTION

No. 66

Session of 2011

INTRODUCED BY BOSCOLA, ARGALL, BAKER, BLAKE, BROWNE AND YUDICHAK, APRIL 5, 2011

INTRODUCED AND ADOPTED, APRIL 5, 2011

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Honoring the 175th anniversary of Monroe County on April 1, 2011.
- 3 WHEREAS, Monroe County was created on April 1, 1836, from
- 4 parts of Northampton and Pike Counties and named after United
- 5 States President James Monroe, the fifth President of the United
- 6 States; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Monroe County is comprised of 16 second class
- 8 townships and four incorporated boroughs with a combined
- 9 population of approximately 166,000 residents and is located in
- 10 the eastern part of the State, along its border with New Jersey;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, Monroe County is one of the fastest growing counties
- 13 in this Commonwealth with a 16% increase in its population over
- 14 the last decade; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Monroe County has grown from an economy based on its
- 16 natural resources of lumber and farmland into a thriving tourist
- 17 destination for countless Americans and Pennsylvanians; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Monroe County is known as the "Honeymoon Capital of

- 1 the World" for its natural appeal, which has given rise to some
- 2 of the finest and most elaborate hotels, resorts and
- 3 recreational facilities; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Monroe County is recognized as a place for
- 5 vacationing and romantic weekend getaways because of the fiery
- 6 beauty of the surrounding wooded peaks and valleys; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Monroe County continues to encourage economic
- 8 development by attracting new industries and bringing new jobs
- 9 and businesses to its residents; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Monroe County is home to East Stroudsburg University
- 11 and the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Monroe County will continue its anniversary
- 13 celebration entitled "Explore Our Past, Embrace Our Future" for
- 14 many years to come; therefore be it
- RESOLVED, That the Senate honor the 175th anniversary of
- 16 Monroe County on April 1, 2011.