## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 25 Session of 2011

INTRODUCED BY PAYNE, BOYD, BROOKS, BUXTON, GABLER, GEIST, GEORGE, HAHN, HESS, HICKERNELL, KAUFFMAN, KORTZ, MAJOR, MILLARD, MUSTIO, REICHLEY, ROEBUCK, SCHRODER, SONNEY, SWANGER, TALLMAN, VULAKOVICH AND QUINN, JANUARY 21, 2011

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JANUARY 21, 2011

## A RESOLUTION

1 2 3 4	Celebrating the success of the Hershey Bears 2009-2010 hockey team in winning the American Hockey League Championship on June 14, 2010, and bringing the Calder Cup to Hershey for the unprecedented 11th time in American Hockey League history.
5	WHEREAS, The 2009-2010 professional hockey season ended on
6	June 14, 2010, with the Hershey Bears bringing home their
7	league's highly coveted trophy; and
8	WHEREAS, The Hershey Bears were in Hershey, Pennsylvania,
9	defeated the Texas Stars 4-0 and proved which American Hockey
10	League (AHL) team deserved to win the AHL Championship Calder
11	Cup; and
12	WHEREAS, The Hershey Bears made history by winning the 2010
13	Calder Cup for the 11th time, an unprecedented number of Calder
14	Cup victories; and won the title for the third time in the last
15	five years; and
16	WHEREAS, A franchise of the Washington Capitals, the Hershey
17	Bears are managed by Doug Yingst, who has been with the

1 organization for 28 years, and coached by Mark French, who took
2 the reins in July 2009 after serving as assistant coach since
3 January 2008; and

WHEREAS, An AHL record of 60 wins during the regular season secured Hershey's slot in the playoffs, which began on April 14 and ended with a 4-1 game series over the Bridgeport Sound Tigers; and

8 WHEREAS, The next series of games in the playoffs, against 9 the Albany River Rats, was hard fought and ended with the series 10 at 4-0 with Hershey winning 3 of the 4 games in overtime; and 11 WHEREAS, After the River Rats, the Bears dispatched the 12 Manchester Monarchs in a 4-2 series, similarly with 3 of the 4 13 wins in overtime; and

14 WHEREAS, The final matchup series began on June 3 against the 15 Texas Stars and ended June 14 on Hershey ice with the Bears 16 winning a 4-2 series and outscoring the Stars 4-0 in the final 17 game; and

18 WHEREAS, The first team in AHL history to win a series that 19 started with 2 home ice losses, the Hershey Bears playoff team 20 brought home "the Cup" to cheering fans for an unprecedented 21 11th time; and

22 WHEREAS, The Playoff roster consists of #1 Braden Holtby, #2 23 Patrick McNeill, #4 John Carlson, #5 Grant Lewis, #6 Sean 24 Collins, #7 Karl Alzner, #10 Andrew Gordon, #11 Keith Aucoin, #12 Alexandre Giroux, #13 Steve Pinizzotto, #14 Simon Ferguson, 25 #15 Michael Dubuc, #17 Chris Bourque, #18 Kyle Wilson, #19 26 Johann Kroll, #20 Bryan Helmer, #21 Jay Beagle, #22 Francois 27 28 Bouchard, #23 Andrew Joudrey, #24 Mathieu Perreault, #25 Zach Miskovic, #26 Ashton Rome, #27 Grant McNeill, #28 Boyd Kane, #30 29 Michal Neuvirth, #32 Greg Amadio, #33 Patrick Wellar, #34 Cody 30

20110HR0025PN0083

- 2 -

Eakin, #35 Jason Bacashihua, #36 Stefan Della Rovere and #37
 Dylan Yeo; and

3 WHEREAS, While winning the 2010 Calder cup was an outstanding team effort, the leadership of team captain Bryan Helmer must be 4 noted, as well as the great skills of Keith Aucoin, the AHL 5 2009-2010 scoring leader and AHL 2009-2010 season's Most 6 7 Valuable Player; Alexandre Giroux, the AHL's leading goal 8 scorer; and Chris Bourque, MVP of the playoffs; and 9 WHEREAS, Hershey is once again known as "Hockeytown" to the 10 delight of Pennsylvania ice hockey fans; therefore be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives celebrate the 11 12 success of the Hershey Bears 2009-2010 American Hockey League 13 team in winning the American Hockey League Championship on June 14 14, 2010, and bringing the Calder Cup to Hershey for the unprecedented 11th time in American Hockey League history. 15