THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

SENATE RESOLUTION

No. 19

Session of 2009

INTRODUCED BY FONTANA, COSTA, FERLO, LOGAN, ORIE, PIPPY, STOUT, VOGEL, ALLOWAY, BAKER, BOSCOLA, BRUBAKER, CORMAN, DINNIMAN, EARLL, GORDNER, KITCHEN, PILEGGI, RAFFERTY, ROBBINS, STACK, WARD, M. WHITE, WILLIAMS, TOMLINSON AND WAUGH, FEBRUARY 4, 2009

INTRODUCED AND ADOPTED, FEBRUARY 4, 2009

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the National Football League champion Pittsburgh
- 2 Steelers for winning Super Bowl XLIII and becoming the most
- 3 successful franchise in NFL history with their record sixth
- 4 Super Bowl title.
- 5 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers won Super Bowl XLIII by
- 6 defeating the Arizona Cardinals 27 to 23 in Tampa, Florida, on
- 7 February 1, 2009, winning their second Super Bowl Championship
- 8 in four years; and
- 9 WHEREAS, With this victory the Pittsburgh Steelers franchise
- 10 has set a new NFL standard for most Super Bowl victories with
- 11 their record sixth Super Bowl Championship; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers went 15-4 against the
- 13 hardest ranked schedule in the NFL and defeated the San Diego
- 14 Chargers, Baltimore Ravens and Arizona Cardinals during their
- 15 record-setting post season run; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Linebacker James Harrison returned a goal line
- 17 interception 100 yards for the longest play in Super Bowl

- 1 history; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger went 21-30 for 256
- 3 yards and led the team down the field for the 19th and most
- 4 important 4th quarter comeback of his career; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Wide Receiver Santonio Holmes won the Super Bowl MVP
- 6 award with a 9-catch, 131-yard performance, including the game
- 7 winning touchdown in the corner of the end zone with 35 second
- 8 left in the game; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Steelers' young offensive line continues to work
- 10 together and capitalized on their efforts at the Super Bowl with
- 11 292 total net yards; led by Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, the
- 12 33:01 minutes of possession included plays by stars Willie
- 13 Parker, Mewelde Moore, Gary Russell, Santonio Holmes, Heath
- 14 Miller, Justin Hartwig, Hines Ward, Nate Washington, Carey Davis
- 15 and Matt Spaeth; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers' new "Steel Curtain"
- 17 defense, including stars James Harrison, Ryan Clark, Troy
- 18 Polamalu, James Farrior, Ike Taylor, Larry Foote, Casey Hampton,
- 19 LaMarr Woodley, Brett Keisel, Chris Hoke, Deshea Townsend and
- 20 Aaron Smith were ranked number one in the NFL in overall team
- 21 defense; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers defense allowed the least
- 23 points scored, lowest average passing yards per game and the
- 24 least overall yards per game in the entire National Football
- 25 League; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Head coach Mike Tomlin is the youngest coach to win
- 27 a Super Bowl Championship and has continued in the legendary
- 28 tradition of head coaches Chuck Noll and Bill Cowher by bringing
- 29 a Super Bowl championship to Pittsburgh; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Linebacker James Harrison was named the NFL

- 1 Defensive Player of the Year for the 2008-2009 season; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Team owner Dan Rooney and team President Art Rooney
- 3 II, the son and grandson, respectively, of Pittsburgh Steelers
- 4 founder Art Rooney, have remarkable loyalty to Steelers fans and
- 5 the City of Pittsburgh, and have assembled an exceptional team
- 6 of players, coaches and staff that made achieving a championship
- 7 possible; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Although Myron Cope, the long-time Steelers
- 9 sportscaster passed away last year, his signature "Terrible
- 10 Towel" has become one of the most well-known fan symbols in the
- 11 world since its introduction in 1975; in Cope's own words: "The
- 12 Towel is a positive force that lifts the Steelers to magnificent
- 13 heights and poses mysterious difficulties for the Steelers'
- 14 opponents only if need be; " and
- 15 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers fan base, known as "Steeler
- 16 Nation" was ranked in August 2008 by ESPN.com, as the best in
- 17 the NFL, citing their current streak of 299 consecutive sold-out
- 18 games going back to the 1972 season and the Steeler Nation is an
- 19 integral part of the great success of the Pittsburgh Steelers
- 20 team; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Other team members Patrick Bailey, Mitch Berger,
- 22 Fernando Bryant, Jason Capizzi, Tyrone Carter, Willie Colon,
- 23 Bruce Davis, Dennis Dixon, Nick Eason, Trai Essex, Keyaron Fox,
- 24 Andre Frazier, William Gay, Tony Hills, Chris Kemoeatu, Travis
- 25 Kirschke, Byron Leftwich, Anthony Madison, Bryant McFadden, Sean
- 26 McHugh, Jeremy Parquet, Scott Paxson, Jeff Reed, Jared
- 27 Retkofsky, Orpheus Roye, Anthony Smith, Darnell Stapleton, Max
- 28 Starks, Limas Sweed and Lawrence Timmons played an essential
- 29 part of the team that allowed the Pittsburgh Steelers to win
- 30 their "Six-Pack" of Super Bowl rings; and

- 1 WHEREAS, For 76 years, the people of the City of Pittsburgh
- 2 have seen themselves in the grit, tenacity and success of the
- 3 Pittsburgh Steelers franchise, and they proudly join the team in
- 4 celebrating their NFL record sixth Super Bowl Championship;
- 5 therefore be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the Senate congratulate the National Football
- 7 League champion Pittsburgh Steelers for winning Super Bowl XLIII
- 8 and setting a new championship standard for the entire National
- 9 Football League.