## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 520

Session of 2007

INTRODUCED BY TURZAI, BAKER, BENNINGHOFF, BEYER, BOYD, BRENNAN, BROOKS, CALTAGIRONE, CAPPELLI, CAUSER, COSTA, COX, CREIGHTON, DALLY, DENLINGER, DiGIROLAMO, DONATUCCI, ELLIS, FAIRCHILD, FLECK, GALLOWAY, GEIST, GEORGE, GIBBONS, GINGRICH, GODSHALL, GRUCELA, HARPER, HELM, HENNESSEY, HORNAMAN, JAMES, M. KELLER, KENNEY, KORTZ, MACKERETH, MANTZ, MARKOSEK, MARSHALL, MELIO, MENSCH, METCALFE, MICOZZIE, MILLARD, R. MILLER, MOUL, MUSTIO, NAILOR, PAYNE, PICKETT, PYLE, RAMALEY, RAPP, READSHAW, REICHLEY, ROAE, ROEBUCK, ROSS, SAINATO, SANTONI, SAYLOR, SCAVELLO, SHIMKUS, SIPTROTH, SOLOBAY, SONNEY, STERN, R. STEVENSON, SURRA, J. TAYLOR, VEREB, VULAKOVICH, WALKO, WATSON, WOJNAROSKI AND YOUNGBLOOD, DECEMBER 4, 2007

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, DECEMBER 4, 2007

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Honoring Stephen N. Frick, Commander, United States Navy, on
- leading the National Aeronautics and Space Administration
- 3 space shuttle mission STS-122 to the International Space
- 4 Station in December 2007.
- 5 WHEREAS, Commander Stephen N. Frick, a native of Gibsonia,
- 6 Pennsylvania, will command the space shuttle Atlantis during its
- 7 11-day mission to the International Space Station; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The shuttle is scheduled for a December 6, 2007,
- 9 launch date from Cape Canaveral, Florida; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The purpose of space shuttle mission STS-122 and its
- 11 crew of seven astronauts is to deliver the European Space
- 12 Agency's Columbus Laboratory to the International Space Station;
- 13 and

- 1 WHEREAS, Space shuttle mission STS-122 will be the eighth
- 2 time Atlantis has visited the International Space Station; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Commander Frick is a 1982 graduate of Pine-Richland
- 4 High School in Gibsonia; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Commander Frick earned a bachelor of science degree
- 6 in aerospace engineering from the United States Naval Academy in
- 7 1986 and a master of science degree in aeronautical engineering
- 8 from the United States Naval Postgraduate School in 1994; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Following his designation as a naval aviator in
- 10 1988, Commander Frick participated in Operation Desert Shield
- 11 and Operation Desert Storm, flying 26 combat missions from the
- 12 Red Sea to targets in Iraq and Kuwait; and
- WHEREAS, As a Navy pilot, Commander Frick has logged more
- 14 than 3,200 flight hours in 35 different aircraft and has made
- 15 370 aircraft carrier landings; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Commander Frick was selected by the National
- 17 Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in April 1996 and
- 18 reported to the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, in
- 19 August 1996; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Having completed two years of training and
- 21 evaluation by NASA, Commander Frick qualified for flight
- 22 assignment as a pilot and was initially assigned technical
- 23 duties in the Astronaut Office Spacecraft Systems/Operations
- 24 Branch; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Commander Frick completed his first space flight as
- 26 a pilot on space shuttle mission STS-110, an 11-day mission in
- 27 2002; and
- WHEREAS, Commander Frick has logged more than 259 hours in
- 29 space; therefore be it
- 30 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor Commander

- 1 Stephen N. Frick with sincere appreciation for his leadership,
- 2 expertise and dedication as he embarks on space shuttle mission
- 3 STS-122 to the International Space Station in December 2007; and
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to
- 6 Commander Stephen N. Frick.