THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE BILL No. 631 Session of 2007

INTRODUCED BY SURRA, PHILLIPS, BELFANTI, BENNINGHOFF, COX, DENLINGER, FABRIZIO, FAIRCHILD, FRANKEL, FREEMAN, GEIST, GEORGE, GERGELY, GIBBONS, GRUCELA, DALEY, HALUSKA, HARPER, HERSHEY, KILLION, LEACH, MAJOR, MARKOSEK, McILHATTAN, R. MILLER, MUNDY, PETRONE, RAPP, ROHRER, RUBLEY, SAINATO, SANTONI, SAYLOR, SIPTROTH, McILVAINE SMITH, R. STEVENSON, STURLA, WALKO, WHEATLEY, WOJNAROSKI, YOUNGBLOOD, GINGRICH, HENNESSEY, HESS, PICKETT, PYLE, STERN, PRESTON, KULA AND LONGIETTI, MARCH 9, 2007

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON STATE GOVERNMENT, MARCH 9, 2007

AN ACT

1 2 3 4 5 6	Amending the act of December 20, 1982 (P.L.1442, No.327), entitled "An act providing for the historic preservation of the State Capitol Building, establishing a Capitol Preservation Committee and establishing the Capitol Restoration Trust Fund," further providing for Capitol Preservation Committee.
7	The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
8	hereby enacts as follows:
9	Section 1. Section 4(b) of the act of December 20, 1982
10	(P.L.1442, No.327), known as the State Capitol Preservation Act,
11	is amended to read:
12	Section 4. Capitol Preservation Committee.
13	* * *
14	(b) MembershipThe committee shall be composed of the
15	following:
16	(1) Four members of the Senate to be appointed by the

President pro tempore of the Senate, two from the majority
and two from the minority party. <u>The appointees shall include</u>
<u>the majority and minority caucus administrators.</u>

4 (2) Four members of the House of Representatives to be 5 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two 6 from the majority and two from the minority party. <u>The</u> 7 <u>appointees shall include the majority and minority caucus</u> 8 administrators.

9 (3) One member, appointed by the Chief Justice, who is 10 not a member of the judiciary.

11 (4) The Secretary of the Department of General Services12 or his designee.

13 (5) The Executive Director of the Pennsylvania14 Historical and Museum Commission or his designee.

15 (6) The Secretary of the State Art Commission. Three members appointed by the Governor which 16 (7) members shall include individuals with experience in 17 18 restoration of monumental buildings or a background in historical restoration or fine arts conservation. 19 20 No member appointed under paragraph (3) or (7) shall be a member of the executive, legislative or judicial branch of Commonwealth 21 22 government at the time of his appointment.

23 * * *

24 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

L6L37JKL/20070H0631B0742

- 2 -