THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 164 Session of 1995

INTRODUCED BY RUDY, CLARK, SATHER, HANNA, HERMAN, STETLER, EGOLF, GORDNER, GEIST, PESCI, SCHULER, BOSCOLA, FARGO, BEBKO-JONES, FICHTER, FAIRCHILD, HALUSKA, HESS, CORRIGAN, BUNT, LESCOVITZ, L. I. COHEN, TIGUE, HERSHEY, OLASZ, GODSHALL, JAROLIN, BELARDI, COY, ITKIN, TRELLO, STABACK, PETTIT AND MANDERINO, JUNE 5, 1995

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JUNE 5, 1995

A RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Township of Armagh, Mifflin County, on its 1 2 225th Anniversary. 3 WHEREAS, The Township of Armagh, Mifflin County, is celebrating the momentous occasion of its 225th Anniversary; and 4 5 WHEREAS, In January 1770, the Cumberland County Court issued 6 a court order granting a petition of the inhabitants of 7 Kishacoquillas Valley to "strike the Great Valley into a township by itself" nearly 20 years before the creation of 8 Mifflin County; and 9 10 WHEREAS, The settlers, upon having their territory separated from Derry Township, which had encompassed what is now all of 11 Mifflin County, decided to call their new township ". . . by the 12 13 name of Armagh" to remind them of their homes in Northern 14 Ireland, the county in which they or their ancestors had

15 originated; and

1 WHEREAS, Armagh Township was reduced in size in 1836 because 2 of the creation of Brown and Menno townships, and the township 3 borders have since been bounded on the northwest by Centre 4 County, on the northeast by Synder and Union counties, on the 5 southeast by Decatur and Derry townships along the summit of Jack's Mountain, on the southwest by Brown Township, and by a 6 7 small portion of Huntingdon County at the northwest corner; and 8 WHEREAS, The first post office was established in the 9 township in 1828 under the name of Valley in the village of 10 Perrysville, where William Thompson, the first postmaster, kept 11 the office at his residence, a short distance northwest of what is now Milroy; the name of the village and the post office was 12 13 changed to Milroy in 1850 in honor of Henry Milroy, who had the original grant, dated August 1, 1766, for the land on which the 14 15 village stands; and

16 WHEREAS, The township also includes the villages of 17 Siglerville, Naginey and Shrader and the area of Pot-Liquor 18 Flat: Siglerville lies in the east end of the Kishacoquillas Valley and was founded by Joseph Sigler in 1847 with the 19 20 construction of a blacksmith shop; Naginey is named for Charles 21 Naginey, on whose farm a station shed on the Milroy branch of 22 the Pennsylvania Railroad was built and called Naginey, a name which has adhered to the extensive limestone at that point and 23 24 to a cave near the station; Shrader originated as a railroad 25 station on the Milroy branch, less than a mile west of Naginey, 26 and where the post office that originally opened was called 27 Naginey, but the town kept the name Shrader in honor of an old family who occupied one of the earliest houses built in that 28 29 section of the valley; Pot-Liquor Flat applies to the section 30 between Milroy and the entrance of the old turnpike to the Seven - 2 -19950H0164R2011

1 Mountains; and

2 WHEREAS, The original settlers outlasted the French and 3 Indian War and Pontiac War, and the inhabitants of the township 4 throughout its history have made their livelihoods from farms, 5 mills, still-houses and various forms of industrial employment; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Armagh Township has been blessed with a succession of civic leaders whose quidance and 8 leadership have helped it to grow and flourish, and was blessed 9 10 as well with citizens whose hard work and dedication have helped 11 it to become a vital presence in this Commonwealth, so that today, the community looks forward to the future with the same 12 13 hope that filled the hearts of its early settlers; and 14 WHEREAS, Armagh Township will begin its big 225th Anniversary 15 celebration on Friday, July 7, 1995, and will hold festivities each weekend through July 30, featuring activities that will 16 17 highlight the history of the township; therefore be it 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate the Township of Armagh, Mifflin County, upon the joyous celebration 19 20 of its 225th Anniversary and extend profound best wishes for 21 many more joyous celebrations in the years to come; and be it further 22

23 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution, sponsored by the 24 Honorable Ruth C. Rudy, be transmitted to the Township of 25 Armagh, Mifflin County.