VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - ENFORCEMENT OF FAILURE TO STOP FOR
SCHOOL BUS WITH FLASHING RED LIGHTS AND VISUAL SIGNALS ON
AUTHORIZED VEHICLES

Act of Jul. 1, 2020, P.L. 515, No. 38 Cl. 75

Session of 2020
No. 2020-38

HB 364
AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, in rules of the road in general, further providing
for enforcement of failure to stop for school bus with
flashing red lights; and, in other required equipment,
further providing for visual signals on authorized vehicles.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 3345.1(b) (1), (c), (f), (h) introductory
paragraph, (i) and (m) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes are amended, subsection (e) 1is amended
by adding a paragraph and the section is amended by adding
subsections to read:

§ 3345.1. Enforcement of failure to stop for school bus with
flashing red lights.
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(b) Applicability.--

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), this section
shall apply to [a driver] an owner of a motor vehicle meeting
or overtaking a school bus stopped on a highway or trafficway
when the red signal lights on the school bus are flashing
and the side stop signal arms are activated as described in
section 3345.
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(c) Liability.--For each violation of section 3345 enforced
under this section, the [driver] owner of the motor vehicle
shall be liable as follows:

(1) The penalty for the violation shall be [as provided
in sections 1535(a) (relating to schedule of convictions and
points) and 3345.] a civil penalty with a fine of $300. The
fine shall be distributed as follows:

(i) %250 to the school district where the violation
occurred, which shall be utilized for the installation
or maintenance of side stop signal arm enforcement
systems on school buses;

(ii) $25 to the police department that reviewed the
evidence package to determine the violation occurred;
and

(iii) $25 to the School Bus Safety Grant Program
Account.

(1.1) The fine under paragraph (1) shall not be subject
to 42 Pa.C.S. § 3571 (relating to Commonwealth portion of
fines, etc.) or 3573 (relating to municipal corporation
portion of fines, etc.).

(2) [ (Reserved) .] A rebuttable presumption shall exist
that the owner of the vehicle was the driver at the time
of the alleged violation.

(3) For each violation under this section, the owner
of the vehicle shall be liable for the fine imposed unless



the owner is convicted of the same violation under section
3345 or has a defense under subsection (f).
(4) A violation under this section shall not:

(i) be deemed a criminal conviction;

(ii) be made part of the operating record of the
individual upon whom the penalty is imposed under section
1535 (relating to schedule of convictions and points);

(iii) be the subject of merit rating for insurance
purposes; or

(iv) authorize imposition of surcharge points in
the provision of motor vehicle insurance coverage.

*

(e) Limitations.--
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(1.1) (i) To the extent practical, an automated side

stop signal arm enforcement system shall use necessary

technologies to ensure that photographs or recorded video
images produced by the system shall not identify the
driver, the passengers or the contents of the wvehicle.

(ii) No notice of liability issued under this
section may be dismissed solely because a photograph or
recorded video image allows for the identification of
the driver, passengers or contents of the wvehicle as
long as a reasonable effort has been made to comply with
this paragraph.
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(f) Defenses.—--

(1) It shall be a defense to a prosecution using a side
stop signal arm enforcement system for a violation under
section 3345 that the person named in the citation was not
operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. The
person shall be required to submit evidence to the court
that the person was not the driver at the time of the alleged
violation.

(2) The person named in the citation shall not be
required to identify the actual driver of the vehicle at the
time the violation occurred.

(3) It shall be a defense to a violation under this
section that the person named in the notice of the violation
was not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation.
The owner may be required to submit evidence that the owner
was not the driver at the time of the alleged violation.

(4) If an owner receives a notice of violation under
this section of a time period during which the vehicle was
reported to a police department of any state or municipality
as having been stolen, it shall be a defense to a violation
under this section that the vehicle has been reported to a
police department as stolen prior to the time the wviolation
occurred and had not been recovered prior to that time.

(5) It shall be a defense to a violation under this
section that the person receiving the notice of wviolation
was not the owner of the vehicle at the time of the offense.
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(h) Duty of manufacturer or vendor.--A manufacturer or
vendor of side stop signal arm enforcement systems shall submit
the following information to the [school entity] police or
police department:
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(h.1) Duty of school district.--A school district may enter
into an intergovernmental agreement with the primary police
department with authority to issue violations using an automated
side stop signal arm enforcement system. The primary police



department is the police department in any municipality in which
the school district is located. If a municipality in which the
school district where the wviolation occurred is located does
not have its own police department, the school district may
petition the Pennsylvania State Police for review of the
evidence package from the automated side stop signal arm
enforcement system.

(h.2) Duty of police and police department.--Police officers
and police departments enforcing violations of section 3345 and
using automated side stop signal arm enforcement systems shall:

(1) Review submitted evidence from the manufacturer or
vendor of a system to determine if there is sufficient
evidence that a violation under section 3345 occurred and
electronically certify the notice of wviolation.

(2) Provide information to a school district related
to the police or police department's capacity to view and
authorize the notice of violation.

(1) [Compensation to manufacturer or vendor.--The
compensation paid to the manufacturer or vendor of the side
stop signal arm enforcement system may not be based on the
number of citations issued. The compensation paid to the
manufacturer or vendor of the equipment shall be based upon the
value of the equipment and services provided or rendered in
support of the side stop signal arm enforcement system.]
(Reserved) .

(i.1) Notice of violation, fines and contest.--The following
shall apply:

(1) The following shall apply to notice of wviolation:

(i) In the case of a violation involving a vehicle
registered under the laws of this Commonwealth, the
notice of violation must be mailed within 30 days after
the commission of the violation or within 30 days after
the discovery of the identity of the registered owner,
whichever is later, and not thereafter to the address
of the registered owner as listed in the records of the
department.

(ii) In the case of vehicles registered in
jurisdictions other than this Commonwealth, the notice
of violation must be mailed within 30 days after the
discovery of the identity of the registered owner and
not thereafter to the address of the registered owner
as listed in the records of the official in the
jurisdiction having charge of the registration of the
vehicle.

(iii) A notice of violation under this section must
be provided to an owner within 90 days of the commission
of the offense.

(iv) The notice of violation shall have attached
to it a copy of the recorded image showing the vehicle;
the registration number and state of issuance of the
vehicle registration; the date, time and place of the
alleged violation; that the violation charged is under
section 3345 and instructions for return of the notice
of violation; and instructions for how to request a
hearing with the magisterial district judge for the
purpose of contesting liability or notice.

(2) The following shall apply to payment of a fine:

(i) An owner may admit responsibility for the
violation and pay the fine as indicated on the notice
of violation.

(ii) Payment of the fine shall operate as a final
disposition of the civil penalty.



(iii) If payment is not received or the owner has
not contested liability within 30 days of original
notice, the police department may turn the matter over
to the Magisterial District Judge where the violation
occurred. The Magisterial District Judge may assess
liability upon the owner for failure to pay the fine or
contest liability.

(3) The following shall apply to contesting liability
or notice:

(i) An owner to whom a notice of violation has been
issued may, within 30 days of the mailing of the notice,
contest the liability alleged in the notice of violation
by requesting a hearing with the magisterial district
judge where the violation occurred and completing the
payment of applicable civil filing fees.

(ii) The primary police department shall file the
notice of violation and supporting documents with the
magisterial district judge where the violation occurred
and the court shall hear and decide the matter.
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(m) Definitions.--As used in this section, the following
words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this
subsection unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Local board of school directors." A board of directors or
other governing authority of a school entity.
"Manufacturer" or "vendor." A company that creates, owns

or has a license or permission to sell, lease or distribute a
side stop signal arm enforcement system.

"Pupil transportation." The transport of resident pupils
of a school district to and from preprimary, primary or
secondary schools and students to or from public, private or
parochial schools. The term does not include transportation for
field trips.

"School entity." A school district, area
[vocational-technical] career and technical school, intermediate
unit, charter school, regional charter school or cyber charter
school.

"Side stop signal arm enforcement system" or "system." A
camera system with two or more camera sensors and computers
that produce recorded video and two or more film or digital
photographic still images of a [motor] vehicle being used or
operated in a manner that violates section 3345.

"Side stop signal arms." As described in section 4552 (b.1)
(relating to general requirements for school buses).

Section 2. Section 4572 of Title 75 is amended by adding a
subsection to read:

§ 4572. Visual signals on authorized vehicles.
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(b.1) Yellow flashing or revolving lights on school
vehicles.--School vehicles may be equipped with a permanently

affixed or removable yellow flashing or revolving light, as
determined by regulation of the department. The light shall
only be activated when the vehicle is preparing to stop or is
stopped to load and unload students. Nothing under this
subsection shall be construed to permit an activity by a driver
of a school vehicle prohibited under section 3351 (relating to
stopping, standing and parking outside business and residence
districts) or 3353 (relating to prohibitions in specified
places).
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Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.



APPROVED--The 1st day of July, A.D. 2020.

TOM WOLF



