BOARD OF VEHICLES ACT - VEHICLE RECALLS, UNLAWFUL ACTS BY
MANUFACTURERS OR DISTRIBUTORS AND LICENSING COST
Act of Jun. 28, 2018, P.L. 420, No. 59 Cl. 75

Session of 2018
No. 2018-59

HB 1898
AN ACT

Amending the act of December 22, 1983 (P.L.306, No.84), entitled
"An act providing for the State Board of Vehicle
Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons; and providing
penalties, " further providing for definitions; providing for
vehicle recalls; and further providing for unlawful acts by
manufacturers or distributors, for application for license
and for licensing cost.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2 of the act of December 22, 1983
(P.L.306, No.84), known as the Board of Vehicles Act, is amended
by adding definitions to read:

Section 2. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall
have the meanings given to them in this section unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Do-not-drive order." A notification provided to the owner
of an affected vehicle by a manufacturer or by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration unconditionally
instructing the owner to stop driving the wvehicle until the
noncompliance or defect remedy is performed.

* * *

"Significantly modify facilities." An alteration that has
a major impact on the architectural features, characteristics,
appearance or integrity of a structure or lot. The term does
not include routine maintenance, such as interior painting,
reasonably necessary to maintain a dealership facility in
attractive condition.

* * *

"Stop-sale order." A notification issued by a manufacturer
to its new vehicle dealers stating that certain used vehicles
in inventory shall not be sold or leased, at retail or
wholesale, due to a Federal safety recall for a defect or a
noncompliance or a Federal or California emissions recall.
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Section 2. The act is amended by adding a section to read:
Section 9.1. Vehicle recalls.

(a) General rule.--A manufacturer shall compensate its new
vehicle dealers for all labor and parts required by the
manufacturer to perform recall repairs. Compensation for recall
repairs shall be in the same manner as warranty parts and labor
compensation under section 9. If parts or a remedy are not
reasonably available to perform a recall service or repair on
a used vehicle held for sale by a new vehicle dealer of the
same line-make within 30 days of the manufacturer issuing the
initial notice of recall, and the manufacturer has issued a
stop-sale order or a do-not-drive order on the vehicle, the
manufacturer shall compensate the dealer at a prorated rate of



at least 1.5% of the value of the vehicle per month, beginning
on the date that is 30 days after the date on which the
stop-sale order or do-not-drive order was provided to the
dealer, until the earlier of the date the recall or remedy parts
are made available or the date the dealer sells, trades or
otherwise disposes of the affected used vehicle. The following
shall apply:

(1) The value of a used vehicle shall be the average
trade-in value for used vehicles as indicated in an
independent third-party guide for the year, make, model and
mileage of the recalled vehicle at the time of the
announcement of the stop-sale order or the do-not-drive
order.

(2) This section shall only apply to used vehicles
subject to safety or emissions recalls pursuant to and
recalled in accordance with Federal law and regulations and
where a stop-sale order or a do-not-drive order has been
issued. Further, this section shall only apply to new vehicle
dealers holding used vehicles for sale that are a line-make
that the dealer is franchised to sell or on which the dealer
is authorized to perform recall repairs:

(i) in inventory at the time the stop-sale order
or do-not-drive order was issued; or

(ii) which were taken into the used vehicle
inventory of the dealer as a lease return vehicle or
consumer trade-in incident to the purchase of a new
vehicle from the dealer after the stop-sale order or
do-not-drive order was issued.

(3) Nothing in this section shall require a manufacturer
to provide total compensation to a dealer which would exceed
the total average trade-in value of the affected used motor
vehicle as originally determined under paragraph (1).

(b) Violation.--It is a violation of this section for a
manufacturer to reduce the amount of compensation otherwise
owed to a new vehicle dealer because the new vehicle dealer has
submitted a claim for reimbursement under this section or was
otherwise compensated for a vehicle subject to a recall where
a stop-sale order or a do-not-drive order has been issued. This
subsection applies regardless of whether the reduction in the
amount of compensation owed to a new vehicle dealer is through
a chargeback, removal from an incentive program, reduction in
amount owed under an incentive program or any other means.

(c) Procedure.--A reimbursement claim made by new vehicle
dealers under this section for recall remedies or repairs, or
for compensation where no part or repair is reasonably available
and the used vehicle is subject to a stop-sale order or a
do-not-drive order, shall be subject to the same limitations
and requirements as a warranty reimbursement claim made under
section 9. A claim shall be either approved or disapproved
within 30 days after the claim is submitted to the manufacturer
in the manner and on the forms the manufacturer reasonably
prescribes. A claim shall be paid within 30 days of approval
of the claim by the manufacturer. A claim not specifically
disapproved in writing within 30 days after the manufacturer
receives a submitted claim shall be deemed to be approved.

(d) Alternative compensation.--As an alternative to the
compensation provided for under subsection (a):

(1) a manufacturer may compensate its new vehicle
dealers under a national recall compensation program if the
compensation under the program is equal to or greater than
that provided under subsection (a); or



(2) the manufacturer and dealer otherwise agree to equal
or greater compensation than that provided under subsection
(a) .

(e) Exclusive remedy.--Any compensation provided to a new
vehicle dealer pursuant to this section is exclusive and may
not be combined with any other Federal or State recall
compensation remedy.

(f) Disclosure.--

(1) A new or used vehicle dealer shall disclose in
writing to used vehicle retail purchasers at the time of
sale the existence of any open, unremedied recalls. By
providing to the used vehicle retail purchaser a report
obtained from the publicly accessible Internet website
safercar.gov, or a successor website, based on a vehicle
identification number search, the dealer shall be deemed to
have complied with the disclosure requirement under this
subsection. For the purpose of this subsection, failure to
provide disclosures to multiple vehicle retail purchasers
at the time of sale in violation of this subsection
constitutes a single offense with a maximum fine of $1,000
under section 28 (a).

(2) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to
limit any civil actions or remedies available in statute or
common law.

Section 3. Section 12 (a) (8) of the act is amended to read:
Section 12. Unlawful acts by manufacturers or distributors.
(a) Unlawful coercive acts.—--It shall be a violation for

any manufacturer, factory branch, distributor, field
representative, officer, agent or any representative whatsoever
of such manufacturer, factory branch or distributor licensed
under this act to require, attempt to require, coerce or attempt
to coerce any new vehicle dealer in this Commonwealth to:
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(8) Expand, construct or significantly modify facilities
before a date that is ten years after the date of the
construction of the facility or the alteration or remodeling
at that location was completed and without assurances that
the manufacturer or distributor will provide a reasonable
supply of new vehicles within a reasonable time so as to
justify such an expansion in light of the market and economic
conditions. This paragraph shall not apply if the expansion,
construction or significant modification is necessary to
comply with a health or safety law or to comply with a
technology requirement, which is necessary to sell or service
a vehicle that the new vehicle dealer is licensed by the
manufacturer to sell or service. This section shall apply
to any successor dealer provided the dealer has been
designated and approved by the manufacturer in the
franchise agreement and the construction, alteration or
remodeling substantially complied with the manufacturer's
brand image standards or plans that the manufacturer
provided at the time the construction, alteration or
remodeling was completed. Nothing in this paragraph shall
prohibit a manufacturer from:

(i) Continuing a facility improvement program that
is in effect as of the effective date of this
subparagraph with more than one new vehicle dealer in
this Commonwealth or to renewing or modifying the
facility improvement program.

(ii) Providing lump sum or regularly scheduled
payments to assist a new vehicle dealer in making a



facility improvement, including construction, alteration
or remodeling or installing signage or an image element.
(iii) Providing reimbursement to a new vehicle
dealer on reasonable, written terms for a portion of the
new vehicle dealer's cost of making a facility
improvement, including construction, alteration or
remodeling, the purchase of goods, building materials
or services or installing signage or an image element.

* * *
Section 4. Section 22 (a) (9) of the act is amended and the
section is amended by adding a subsection to read:
Section 22. Application for license.
(a) Dealer's or vehicle auction's license.--Application for

license as a dealer or vehicle auction shall be made in writing
to the board, signed by the applicant, setting forth the
following:
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(9) A statement by the applicant that he has met all
facility requirements as noted herein and as required by
regulation, except as provided in subsection (a.l).

(a.1l) Temporary permit for new vehicle dealers.--Upon
receipt of a complete and accurate new vehicle dealer
application or new vehicle dealer change of address application,
the board shall issue a new vehicle dealer license immediately.
If the new vehicle dealer does not have the franchise approval
letter, the telephone business line information, the certificate
of occupancy or the lease or deed for the property available
when the application has been submitted, the new vehicle dealer
shall receive a temporary permit that expires at the end of 45
days from the date of closing. The new vehicle dealer shall
submit the franchise approval letter, the telephone business
line information, the certificate of occupancy and the lease
or deed for the property prior to the expiration of the
temporary permit. Upon receipt of the franchise approval letter,
the telephone business line information, the certificate of
occupancy and the lease or deed for the property, the board
shall issue a new vehicle dealer 1license immediately.

*x k%

Section 5. Section 27.1 heading and (a) (2) of the act is
amended to read:

Section 27.1. Licensing cost.

(a) Licensing cost.--Subject to the limitations established
under subsection (c), a licensed dealer who has a contract with
the Department of Transportation pursuant to 75 Pa.C.S. § 7501
(relating to authorization of messenger and agent services) may
charge the purchaser of a vehicle a licensing cost permissible
under 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 19 (relating to fees) and the act of
December 17, 1968 (P.L.1224, No.387), known as the Unfair Trade
Practices and Consumer Protection Law, and regulations
promulgated thereunder, to include any of the following:
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(2) A documentary preparation charge for:

(1) Preparation and completion of documents required
to register and license the vehicle under 75 Pa.C.S.

(relating to wvehicles).

(ii) Collection and submission of taxes payable by
the purchaser.
(1id) Preparation of any other information

associated with titling and registration of a wvehicle.
(iv) Complying with Federal and State laws and
regulations relating to the privacy and safeguarding of



customer information requirements, providing financial
services to the customer and preparation and retrieval
of documents.

*x k%
Section 6. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
APPROVED--The 28th day of June, A.D. 2018.

TOM WOLF



