VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - PERSON WITH DISABILITY PLATE AND PLACARD

Act of Jun. 23, 2016, P.L. 390, No. 55 Session of 2016 No. 2015-55

Cl. 75

SB 983

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in registration of vehicles, further providing for person with disability plate and placard.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1338(a) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 1338. Person with disability plate and placard.

(a) Person with disability plate. -- On the application of any person who:

- (1) is blind;
- (2) does not have full use of an arm or both arms;
- (3) cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;

(4) cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device;

(5) is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;

(6) uses portable oxygen;

(7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association;

(8) is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition; [or]

is a person in loco parentis of a person specified (9) in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7) or (8);

(10) is the parent, including adoptive parent or foster parent, of a child or adult child provided that the person has custody, care or control of the child or adult child and the child or adult child satisfies paragraph (1), (2), (3),

(4), (5), (6), (7) or (8); or (11) is the spouse of a person specified in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7) or (8);

the department shall issue a special registration plate for one passenger car or truck with a registered gross weight of not more than 14,000 pounds, designating the vehicle so licensed as being used by a person with a disability. Special plates for persons with disabilities may also be issued for vehicles operated exclusively for the use and benefit of persons with disabilities. In the case of a motorcycle, the department shall issue a decal containing the international symbol for access for persons with disabilities for display on the registration plate.

* * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days. APPROVED--The 23rd day of June, A.D. 2016. TOM WOLF