VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - ISSUANCE AND CONTENT OF DRIVER'S LICENSE Act of Jul. 10, 2015, P.L. 159, No. 32 Cl. 75

Session of 2015 No. 2015-32

SB 42

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in licensing of drivers, further providing for issuance and content of driver's license.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1510(a.1) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read: § 1510. Issuance and content of driver's license.

* * *

(a.1) Veteran's driver's license designation.--

(1) Beginning as soon as practicable, but no later than 18 months following the effective date of this subsection, the department shall issue a driver's license or identification card that clearly indicates that the person is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces. A qualified applicant is an individual who has served in the United States Armed Forces, including a reserve component or the National Guard, and who was discharged or released from such service under conditions other than dishonorable.

(2) Upon receipt of an application from a qualified applicant accompanied by such documentation as the department shall require, the department shall issue to the veteran a driver's license or identification card displaying a veteran designation. There shall be no fee for the veteran designation, but the qualified applicant must pay any renewal or duplicate driver's license or identification card fees.

The department and the Department of Military and (3) Veterans Affairs shall enter into an agreement whereby the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs shall reimburse the Motor License Fund for the department's actual costs of the issuance of a veteran's designation on drivers' licenses and identification cards. Reimbursement shall be paid from the Veterans' Trust Fund or such other funds available for this purpose.

(4) A person who falsely represents himself as a veteran of the United States Armed Forces on an application for a driver's license or identification card is subject to the penalty under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904(b) (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities). * * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 10th day of July, A.D. 2015.

TOM WOLF