JUDICIAL CODE (42 PA.C.S.) - SURCHARGE, FEE DEPOSIT INTO THE
ACCESS TO JUSTICE ACCOUNT, DISPOSTITION OF OBSOLETE RECORDS,
FORM OF PERMANENT RECORDATION AND COPIES OF DESTROYED RECORDS

Act of Jul. 9, 2014, P.L. 1004, No. 113 cl. 42

Session of 2014
No. 2014-113

HB 1337
AN ACT

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in facilities and
supplies relating to judicial computer system, further
providing for surcharge and for fee deposit into the access
to justice account; and, in disposition of obsolete records,
further providing for form of permanent recordation and for
copies of destroyed records.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3733.1(a) and (c), 4323 and 4324 of
Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended
to read:

§ 3733.1. Surcharge.

(a) Imposition of surcharge.--In addition to each fee
imposed under section 3733 (a.l) (relating to deposits into
account), except as set forth in subsection (b), the following
apply:

(1) A surcharge of $11.25 shall be charged and
collected. This paragraph shall expire December 31, [2014]
2017.

(2) A permanent fee of $2.25 shall be charged and

collected.
(3) A permanent fee of $2 shall be charged and
collected.
* * *
(c) Allocation and appropriation.--
(1) The surcharge under subsection (a) (1) [shall be

allocated as follows:

(1) One dollar shall be deposited into the Access
to Justice Account.

(1) The remainder of money] shall be deposited
into a separate reserve account within the Judicial
Computer System Augmentation Account. Notwithstanding
section 3732 (relating to utilization of funds in
account), money deposited under this [subparagraph]
paragraph is hereby appropriated to the Supreme Court,
upon compliance with Article XV of the act of April 9,
1929 (P.L.343, No.l76), known as The Fiscal Code, for
the operation of the Judicial Department.

(2) The fee under subsection (a) (2) shall be deposited
into the Criminal Justice Enhancement Account.
(3) The fee under subsection (a) (3) shall be deposited
into the Access to Justice Account.
§ 4323. Form of [permanent] recordation.

[Records which are classified as records of permanent value
shall, prior to destruction or other removal from the office
of the person having custody thereof, be processed in conformity
with general rules so that they may be reproduced by any



photostatic, photographic, microphotographic, microfilm, video
tape, magnetic tape, or other mechanical process which produces
a clear, accurate and permanent copy, microcopy or reproduction
of the original, in accordance with standards not less than
those approved for permanent records by the National Bureau of
Standards.] (a) In general.--Records may be reproduced in
accordance with subsection (c).

(b) Records of permanent value.--Records that are classified
as records of permanent value may be reproduced in accordance
with subsection (c) provided that, if the original record is
being destroyed after reproduction:

(1) the reproduction format shall be human readable;
or

(2) if the reproduction format is electronic or
otherwise not human readable, the governing authority, in
consultation with the County Records Committee, shall create
and apply standards, policies and procedures for the
creation, maintenance, backup, migration and transmission
of permanent records in that format.

(c) Means of reproduction.--Any photostatic, photographic,
micrographic, microfilm, microcard, miniature photographic,
optical, electronic or other future technologies, analog or
digital, which accurately reproduces the original and forms
secure and unalterable copies for recording may be utilized for
reproducing records as authorized in accordance with this
subchapter.

(d) Documents previously recorded, copied or recopied.--A
document within the scope of this section and that previously
has been recorded, copied or recopied also may be reproduced
by processes authorized by this section.

§ 4324. Copies of destroyed records.

[The photostatic, photographic, microphotographic,
microfilmed or otherwise reproduced] A copy of any record
destroyed or disposed of as authorized pursuant to this
subchapter, or a certified copy thereof, if produced in
accordance with section 4323 (relating to form of recordation)
shall be admissible in evidence in any matter, and shall have
the same force and effect as though the original record had
been produced and proved. It shall be the duty of the person
who would have had custody of the original record, had it not
been destroyed pursuant to law, to prepare enlarged, typed or
photographic copies of such reproduced records whenever their
production is required.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 30 days.

APPROVED--The 9th day of July, A.D. 2014.

TOM CORBETT



