FISH AND BOAT CODE (30 PA.C.S.) - DISABLED VETERANS AND FORMER PRISONERS OF WAR FISHING LICENSE

C1. 30

Act of Jun. 26, 2014, P.L. 805, No. 81

Session of 2014 No. 2014-81

SB 1102

AN ACT

Amending Title 30 (Fish) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for disabled veterans and former prisoners of war.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

- Section 1. Section 2707 of Title 30 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read: § 2707. Disabled veterans and former prisoners of war.
 - (a) General rule for disabled veterans.--
 - (1) Any disabled veteran who has a disability incurred in any war or armed conflict which consists of the loss of one or more limbs, or the loss of use of one or more limbs, or total blindness, or who is 100% disabled as certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, and who meets the qualifications of section 2701 (relating to resident fishing licenses), shall be issued a free resident fishing license upon application to the commission or a county treasurer. An application submitted by a disabled veteran shall, in addition to any information required under section 2701, contain a statement that the applicant is a war or armed conflict veteran and that the qualifying disability was service incurred. The issuing agent or the commission may require the production of the discharge papers of the applicant.
 - (2) Any disabled veteran who has a disability incurred in any war or armed conflict and possesses a disability rating between 60% and 99% as certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and who meets the qualifications of section 2701 shall be issued a resident fishing license at the cost of \$1 upon application to the commission or a county treasurer. An application submitted by a disabled veteran shall, in addition to any information required under section 2701, contain a statement that the applicant is a war or armed conflict veteran and that the qualifying disability was service incurred. The issuing agent or the commission may require the production of the discharge papers of the applicant.
 - (a.1) General rule for former prisoners of war.--
 - (1) A former prisoner of war who meets the qualifications of section 2701 shall be issued a resident fishing license at the cost of \$1 upon application to the commission or a county treasurer. An application submitted by a former prisoner of war shall, in addition to any information required under section 2701, contain a statement that the applicant is a former prisoner of war.
 - (2) As used in this subsection, the term "former prisoner of war" means an individual who was imprisoned by enemy forces while in the service of the armed forces of the

United States as certified by the appropriate branch of the armed forces of the United States.

- (b) Lifetime licenses.--
- (1) If a disabled veteran who qualifies for issuance of a free resident fishing license under subsection [(a)] (a)(1) presents documentation to show that the qualifying disability is permanent, the commission or county treasurer shall issue a disabled veteran lifetime fishing license.
- (2) A former prisoner of war who meets the qualifications of section 2701(b) shall be issued a senior resident lifetime fishing license at the cost of \$1 upon application to the commission or a county treasurer.
- (c) Home rule and optional plan counties.—In a county where there is no county treasurer by virtue of a home rule charter or optional plan of government, the county official who performs the functions of a county treasurer and who has been designated an issuing agent by the commission shall issue free **and reduced** fee resident fishing licenses to disabled veterans and reduced fee resident fishing licenses to former prisoners of war under this section.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 26th day of June, A.D. 2014.

TOM CORBETT