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AN ACT
Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, providing for the
protection of victims of sexual violence or intimidation,
for duties of law enforcement agencies, for procedure and
for penalties; and, in juvenile matters, further providing
for definitions.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a chapter to read:

CHAPTER 62A
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§ 62A01. Scope of chapter.

This chapter relates to protection of victims of sexual
violence or intimidation.
§ 62A02. Findings and purpose.

The General Assembly finds and declares that:
(1) Sexual violence is the most heinous crime against

a person other than murder.
(2) Sexual violence and intimidation can inflict

humiliation, degradation and terror on the victim.
(3) According to the Department of Justice, someone is

sexually assaulted every two minutes in the United States.



(4) Rape is recognized as one of the most underreported
crimes, and studies indicate that only one in three rapes
is reported to law enforcement.

(5) Victims of sexual violence and intimidation desire
safety and protection from future interactions with their
offender, regardless of whether they seek criminal
prosecution.

(6) This chapter provides the victim with a civil remedy
requiring the offender to stay away from the victim, as well
as other appropriate relief.

§ 62A03. Definitions.
The following words and phrases when used in this chapter

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Adult." An individual who is 18 years of age or older.
"Certified copy." A paper copy of the original order of the

issuing court endorsed by the appropriate clerk of that court
or an electronic copy of the original order of the issuing court
endorsed with a digital signature of the judge or appropriate
clerk of that court, regardless of whether or not there is a
raised seal on the copy of the order of the issuing court.

"Confidential communications." As defined in section 5945.1
(relating to confidential communications with sexual assault
counselors).

"Coparticipant." As defined in section 5945.1 (relating to
confidential communications with sexual assault counselors).

"Court." The court or magisterial district judge having
jurisdiction over the matter under and exercised as provided
in this title or as otherwise provided or prescribed by law.

"Family or household members." Spouses or persons who have
been spouses, persons living as spouses or who lived as spouses,
parents and children, other persons related by consanguinity
or affinity, current or former sexual or intimate partners or
persons who share biological parenthood.

"Hearing officer." A magisterial district judge, judge of
the Philadelphia Municipal Court, bail commissioner appointed
under section 1123 (relating to jurisdiction and venue), master
appointed under section 1126 (relating to masters) or master
for emergency relief.

"Intimidation." Conduct constituting a crime under either
of the following provisions between persons who are not family
or household members:

18 Pa.C.S. § 2709(a)(4), (5), (6) or (7) (relating to
harassment) where the conduct is committed by a person 18
years of age or older against a person under 18 years of
age.

18 Pa.C.S. § 2709.1 (relating to stalking) where the
conduct is committed by a person 18 years of age or older
against a person under 18 years of age.
"Master for emergency relief." A member of the bar of the

Commonwealth appointed under section 62A09(e) (relating to
emergency relief by minor judiciary).

"Minor." An individual who is not an adult.
"Plaintiff." An individual who applies for a protection

order, either for the benefit of that individual or on behalf
of another individual.

"Protection order" or "order." An order issued under this
chapter designed to protect a victim of sexual violence or
intimidation.

"Rape crisis center." As defined in section 5945.1 (relating
to confidential communications with sexual assault counselors).



"Sexual assault counselor." As defined in section 5945.1
(relating to confidential communications with sexual assault
counselors).

"Sexual violence." Conduct constituting a crime under any
of the following provisions between persons who are not family
or household members:

18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 31 (relating to sexual offenses), except
18 Pa.C.S. §§ 3129 (relating to sexual intercourse with
animal) and 3130 (relating to conduct relating to sex
offenders).

18 Pa.C.S. § 4304 (relating to endangering welfare of
children) if the offense involved sexual contact with the
victim.

18 Pa.C.S. § 6301(a)(1)(ii) (relating to corruption of
minors).

18 Pa.C.S. § 6312(b) (relating to sexual abuse of
children).

18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with
minor).

18 Pa.C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of
children).
"Sheriff." The sheriff of a county or, in a city of the

first class, the chief or head of the police department.
"Victim." A person who is the victim of sexual violence or

intimidation.
§ 62A04. Responsibilities of law enforcement agencies.

(a) General rule.--The police department of each municipal
corporation, the Pennsylvania State Police and the sheriff of
each county shall ensure that all their officers, deputies and
employees are familiar with the provisions of this chapter.
Instruction concerning orders shall be made a part of the
training curriculum for all trainee officers and deputies. All
law enforcement agencies shall adopt a written policy regarding
orders issued under this chapter.

(b) Notice of arrest.--The police department of each
municipal corporation and the Pennsylvania State Police shall
make reasonable efforts to notify any person protected by an
order issued under this chapter of the arrest of the defendant
for violation of an order as soon as possible. Unless the person
cannot be located, notice of the arrest shall be provided not
more than 24 hours after preliminary arraignment.

(c) Statewide registry.--
(1) A complete and systematic record and index of all

valid temporary and final orders issued under this chapter
shall be entered and maintained in the database established
and maintained by the Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to
23 Pa.C.S. § 6105(e) (relating to responsibilities of law
enforcement agencies).

(2) With respect to orders issued under this chapter,
the Statewide registry shall include, but need not be limited
to, the following:

(i) The names of the plaintiff and the victim, if
the victim is not the same individual as the plaintiff.

(ii) The name of other designated persons protected
by the order under section 62A07(b) (relating to relief).

(iii) The name and address of the defendant.
(iv) The date the order was entered.
(v) The date the order expires.
(vi) The relief granted under sections 62A07 and

62A09 (relating to emergency relief by minor judiciary).
(vii) The judicial district in which the order was

entered.



(viii) Where furnished, the Social Security number
and date of birth of the defendant.
(3) The prothonotary shall send, on a form prescribed

by the Pennsylvania State Police, a copy of an order to the
Statewide registry so that it is received within 24 hours
of the entry of the order. An amendment to or revocation of
an order shall be transmitted by the prothonotary within 24
hours of the entry of the order for modification or
revocation. The Pennsylvania State Police shall enter orders,
amendments and revocations in the Statewide registry within
eight hours of receipt. Vacated or expired orders shall be
purged from the registry.

(4) The registry of the Pennsylvania State Police shall
be available at all times to inform courts, dispatchers and
law enforcement officers of any valid order involving any
defendant.

(5) Information contained in the Statewide registry
relating to orders shall not be subject to access under the
act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3), known as the
Right-to-Know Law.

§ 62A05. Commencement of proceedings.
(a) General rule.--An adult or emancipated minor may seek

relief under this chapter for that person or any parent, adult
household member or guardian ad litem may seek relief under
this chapter on behalf of a minor child, or the guardian of the
person of an adult who has been declared incapacitated under
20 Pa.C.S. Ch. 55 (relating to incapacitated persons) may seek
relief on behalf of an incapacitated adult, by filing a petition
with the court alleging the need for protection from the
defendant with respect to sexual violence or intimidation.

(a.1) False reports.--A person who knowingly gives false
information to a law enforcement officer with intent to
implicate another under this chapter commits an offense under
18 Pa.C.S. § 4906 (relating to false reports to law enforcement
authorities).

(b) No prepayment of fees.--The petition shall be filed and
service shall be made without the prepayment of fees.

(c) Assessment of fees and costs.--
(1) (i) No plaintiff seeking relief under this chapter
shall be charged any fees or costs associated with the
filing, issuance, registration or service of a petition,
motion, complaint, order or any other filing. Prohibited
fees or costs shall include, but are not limited to,
those associated with modifying, withdrawing, dismissing
or certifying copies of a petition, motion, complaint,
order or any other filing, as well as any judicial
surcharge or computer system fee.

(ii) No plaintiff seeking relief under this chapter
shall be charged any fees or costs associated with filing
a motion for reconsideration or an appeal from any order
or action taken under this chapter.
(2) When an order is granted under this chapter, fees

and costs shall be assessed against the defendant. The court
shall waive fees and costs upon a showing of good cause or
when the court makes a finding that the defendant is not
able to pay the fees and costs.

(3) Nothing in this section is intended to expand or
diminish the court's authority to enter an order under
Pa.R.C.P. No.1023.1 (relating to Scope. Signing of Documents.
Representations to the Court. Violation.).
(c.1) Surcharge on order.--When an order is granted under

section 62A06 (relating to hearings), a surcharge of $100 shall



be assessed against the defendant. All moneys received from
surcharges shall be distributed in the following order of
priority:

(1) Twenty-five dollars shall be forwarded to the
Commonwealth and shall be used by the Pennsylvania State
Police to establish and maintain the Statewide registry of
protection orders provided for in section 62A04(c) (relating
to responsibilities of law enforcement agencies).

(2) Fifty dollars shall be retained by the county and
shall be used to carry out the provisions of this chapter
as follows:

(i) Twenty-five dollars shall be used by the
sheriff.

(ii) Twenty-five dollars shall be used by the court.
(3) Twenty-five dollars shall be forwarded to the

Department of Public Welfare for use for victims of sexual
assault in accordance with the provisions of section 2333
of the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.177, No.175), known as The
Administrative Code of 1929.

(4) The surcharge allocated under paragraphs (1) and
(3) shall be used to supplement and not to supplant any other
source of funds received for the purpose of carrying out the
provisions of this chapter.
(d) Service.--

(1) The court shall adopt a means of prompt and
effective service. If the court so orders, the sheriff or
another court-designated agency or individual shall serve
the petition and protection order. Under no circumstances
shall the plaintiff be obligated to serve the petition or
protection order.

(2) The petition and order shall be served upon the
defendant.

(3) Within two business days, the order shall be served
upon the police department, sheriff and district attorney
in the jurisdiction where the order was entered.

(4) A certified copy of the order shall be issued to
the plaintiff.

(5) In the case of a minor victim of sexual violence,
a copy of the petition and order shall be served upon the
county agency and the Department of Public Welfare. For
purposes of this subparagraph, the term "county agency" shall
be as defined in 23 Pa.C.S. § 6303 (relating to definitions).

(6) A copy of the order shall be issued as otherwise
ordered by the court or hearing officer.

(7) Failure to serve the police department, sheriff or
district attorney's office shall not stay the effect of a
valid order.
(e) Assistance and advice to plaintiff.--The courts and

hearing officers shall:
(1) Provide simplified forms and clerical assistance

in English and Spanish to help with the writing and filing
of the petition for an order for an individual not
represented by counsel.

(2) Provide the plaintiff with written and oral
referrals, in English and Spanish, to local sexual assault
services in the case of sexual violence and to the local
legal services office and to the county bar association's
lawyer referral service in the case of sexual violence or
intimidation.
(f) Effect of departure and nonresidence.--The right of the

plaintiff to relief under this chapter shall not be affected
by the defendant's absence from this Commonwealth or the



defendant's nonresidence in this Commonwealth, provided that
the court has personal jurisdiction over the defendant in
accordance with section 5322 (relating to bases of personal
jurisdiction over persons outside this Commonwealth).
§ 62A06. Hearings.

(a) General rule.--Within ten business days of the filing
of a petition under this chapter, a hearing shall be held before
the court where the plaintiff must:

(1) assert that the plaintiff or another individual,
as appropriate, is a victim of sexual violence or
intimidation committed by the defendant; and

(2) prove by preponderance of the evidence that the
plaintiff or another individual, as appropriate, is at a
continued risk of harm from the defendant.
(a.1) Right to counsel.--The court shall, at the time the

defendant is given notice of the hearing, advise the defendant
of the right to be represented by counsel. The notice shall be
printed and delivered in a manner that easily attracts attention
to its contents.

(b) Temporary orders.--If a plaintiff seeks a temporary
order for protection from an immediate and present danger, the
court shall conduct an ex parte proceeding. The court may enter
a temporary order as it deems necessary to protect the plaintiff
or another individual, as appropriate, when it finds the
plaintiff or another individual is in immediate and present
danger from the defendant. The temporary order shall remain in
effect until modified or terminated by the court after notice
and hearing.

(c) Continued hearings.--If a hearing under subsection (a)
is continued and no temporary order is issued, the court may
make ex parte temporary orders under subsection (b), as it deems
necessary.
§ 62A07. Relief.

(a) Order or consent agreement.--The court may issue an
order or approve a consent agreement to protect the plaintiff
or another individual, as appropriate, from the defendant.

(b) General rule.--An order or a consent agreement may
include:

(1) Prohibiting the defendant from having any contact
with the victim, including, but not limited to, restraining
the defendant from entering the victim's residence, place
of employment, business or school. This may include
prohibiting indirect contact through third parties and also
prohibiting direct or indirect contact with other designated
persons.

(2) Granting any other appropriate relief sought by the
plaintiff.
(c) Duration and amendment of order or agreement.--A

protection order or an approved consent agreement shall be for
a fixed period of time not to exceed 36 months. The court may
amend its order or agreement at any time upon subsequent
petition filed by either party.

(d) Extension of protection orders.--
(1) An extension of an order may be granted:

(i) Where the court, after a duly filed petition,
notice to the defendant and a hearing, in accordance
with the procedures set forth in sections 62A05 (relating
to commencement of proceedings) and 62A06 (relating to
hearings), finds that the extension is necessary because
the defendant engaged in one or more acts or finds some
other circumstances that, in the discretion of the court,
demonstrate a continued risk of harm to the victim.



(ii) When a contempt petition or charge has been
filed with the court or, in a county of the first class,
a hearing officer, but the hearing has not occurred
before the expiration of the protection order, the order
shall be extended, at a minimum, until the disposition
of the contempt petition.
(2) Service of an extended order shall be made in

accordance with section 62A05(d).
(3) There shall be no limitation on the number of

extensions that may be granted.
(e) Notice.--Notice shall be given to the defendant stating

that violations of the order will subject the defendant to
arrest under section 62A12 (relating to arrest for violation
of order) or contempt of court under section 62A14 (relating
to contempt for violation of order).

(f) Incarceration.--When the defendant is or was
incarcerated and will be released from custody in the next 90
days or has been released from custody within the past 90 days,
a plaintiff does not need to show that the defendant engaged
in one or more acts that indicate a continued risk of harm to
the victim in order to obtain an extension or a subsequent
protection order under this chapter.

(g) Identifying information.--Any order issued under this
chapter shall, when furnished by either party, specify the
Social Security number and date of birth of the defendant.
§ 62A08. (Reserved).
§ 62A09. Emergency relief by minor judiciary.

(a) General rule.--When:
(1) in counties with fewer than four judges, the court

is unavailable:
(i) from the close of business at the end of each

day to the resumption of business the next morning;
(ii) from the end of the business week to the

beginning of the business week; and
(iii) during the business day by reason of duties

outside the county, illness or vacation; or
(2) in counties with at least four judges, the court

is unavailable:
(i) from the close of business at the end of each

day to the resumption of business the next morning; and
(ii) from the end of the business week to the

beginning of the business week;
a petition may be filed before a hearing officer who may grant
relief in accordance with section 62A07 (relating to relief)
if the hearing officer deems it necessary to protect the victim
upon good cause shown in an ex parte proceeding. Immediate and
present danger posed by the defendant to the victim shall
constitute good cause for the purposes of this subsection.

(b) Expiration of order.--An order issued under subsection
(a) shall expire at the end of the next business day the court
deems itself available. The court shall schedule hearings on
orders entered by hearing officers under subsection (a) and
shall review and continue in effect orders that are necessary
to protect the plaintiff or another individual, as appropriate,
until the hearing, at which time the plaintiff may seek a
temporary order from the court.

(c) Certification of order to court.--An emergency order
issued under this section and any documentation in support
thereof shall be immediately certified to the court. The
certification to the court shall have the effect of commencing
proceedings under section 62A05 (relating to commencement of
proceedings) and invoking the other provisions of this chapter.



If it is not already alleged in a petition for an emergency
order, the plaintiff shall file a verified statement setting
forth the reasons for the need for protection at least five
days prior to the hearing. Service of the verified statement
shall be made subject to section 62A05(d).

(d) Instructions regarding the commencement of
proceedings.--Upon issuance of an emergency order, the hearing
officer shall provide the plaintiff instructions regarding the
commencement of proceedings in the court at the beginning of
the next business day and regarding the procedures for
initiating a contempt charge should the defendant violate the
emergency order. The hearing officer shall also advise the
plaintiff of the existence of rape crisis centers in the county
or in nearby counties in the case of sexual violence and inform
the plaintiff of the availability of legal assistance without
cost if the plaintiff is unable to pay for them in the case of
sexual violence or intimidation.

(e) Master of emergency relief.--The president judge of a
court of common pleas of a judicial district may, with the
approval of the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts,
provide for the selection and appointment of a master for
emergency relief on a full-time or part-time basis. The number
of masters for emergency relief shall be fixed by the president
judge with the approval of the Administrative Office of
Pennsylvania Courts. The compensation of a master for emergency
relief shall be fixed and paid by the county.
§ 62A10. Sexual assault counselor.

A sexual assault counselor may accompany and provide
assistance to a plaintiff in any legal proceeding or hearing
under this chapter which relates to sexual violence.
§ 62A11. Disclosure of addresses.

(a) General rule.--During the course of a proceeding under
this chapter, the court or hearing officer may consider whether
the plaintiff or victim, as appropriate, is endangered by
disclosure of the permanent or temporary address of the
plaintiff or victim. The court shall consider the wishes of the
plaintiff regarding the disclosure of the address. Neither in
the pleadings nor during proceedings or hearings under this
chapter shall the court or hearing officer require disclosure
of the address of a rape crisis center or the plaintiff or
victim, as appropriate.

(b) Order.--Where the court concludes that the defendant
poses a continued risk of harm to the victim and where the
plaintiff requests that the address, telephone number and
information about the victim's whereabouts not be disclosed,
the court shall enter an order directing that law enforcement
agencies, human service agencies and school districts shall not
disclose the presence of the victim in the jurisdiction or
district or furnish any address, telephone number or any other
demographic information about the victim except by further order
of the court.
§ 62A12. Arrest for violation of order.

(a) General rule.--An arrest for a violation of an order
issued under this chapter may be without warrant upon probable
cause, whether or not the violation is committed in the presence
of the police officer or sheriff, in circumstances where the
defendant has violated a provision of an order consistent with
section 62A07 (relating to relief). The police officer or
sheriff may verify the existence of an order by telephone, radio
or other electronic communication with the appropriate police
department, Pennsylvania State Police registry or issuing
authority. A police officer or sheriff shall arrest a defendant



for violating an order by a court within the judicial district
or issued by a court in another judicial district within this
Commonwealth.

(b) Procedure following arrest.--
(1) Subsequent to an arrest, the defendant shall be

taken by the police officer or sheriff without unnecessary
delay before the court in the judicial district where the
contempt is alleged to have occurred.

(2) When that court is unavailable, the police officer
or sheriff shall convey the defendant to a magisterial
district judge designated as appropriate by local rules of
court or, in counties of the first class, to the appropriate
hearing officer.
(c) Preliminary arraignment.--The defendant shall be

afforded a preliminary arraignment without unnecessary delay.
(d) Other emergency powers unaffected.--This section shall

not be construed to in any way limit any of the other powers
for emergency relief provided under this chapter.

(e) Hearing.--A hearing shall be scheduled within ten
business days of the filing of the charge or complaint of
indirect criminal contempt. The hearing and any adjudication
shall not preclude a hearing on other criminal charges
underlying the contempt, nor shall a hearing or adjudication
on other criminal charges preclude a hearing on a charge of
indirect criminal contempt.
§ 62A13. Private criminal complaints for violation of order

or agreement.
(a) General rule.--A plaintiff may file a private criminal

complaint against a defendant, alleging indirect criminal
contempt for a violation of any provision of an order or
court-approved consent agreement issued under this chapter,
with the court, the office of the district attorney or the
magisterial district judge in the jurisdiction or county where
the violation occurred, except that in a county of the first
class, a complaint may only be filed with the family division
of the court of common pleas or the office of district attorney.

(b) Procedure service.--
(1) Procedure for filing and service of a private

criminal complaint shall be provided as set forth by local
rule.

(2) Nothing in this subsection is intended to expand
or diminish the court's authority to enter an order pursuant
to Pa.R.C.P. No.1023.1 (relating to Scope. Signing of
Documents. Representations to the Court. Violation.).
(c) Fees and costs.--

(1) No fees or costs associated with the prosecution
of the private criminal complaint shall be assigned to the
plaintiff, including, but not limited to, filing, service,
failure to prosecute, withdrawal or dismissal.

(2) (i) After a finding of indirect criminal contempt,
fees and costs may be assigned against the defendant.

(ii) The court shall waive fees and costs imposed
under this chapter upon a showing of good cause or if
the court makes a finding that the defendant is not able
to pay the costs associated with the indirect criminal
contempt action.
(3) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to

expand or diminish the court's authority to enter an order
under Pa.R.C.P. No.1023.1.

§ 62A14. Contempt for violation of order.
(a) General rule.--Where the police department, sheriff or

the plaintiff has filed charges of indirect criminal contempt



against a defendant for violation of an order or court-approved
consent agreement entered into under this chapter, the court
may hold the defendant in indirect criminal contempt and punish
the defendant in accordance with law.

(b) Jurisdiction.--A court shall have jurisdiction over
indirect criminal contempt charges for violation of a protection
order in the county where the violation occurred and in the
county where the order was granted.

(c) Minor defendant.--Any defendant who is a minor and who
is charged with indirect criminal contempt for allegedly
violating a protection order related to sexual violence shall
be considered to have committed an alleged delinquent act as
that term is defined in section 6302 (relating to definitions)
and shall be treated as provided in Chapter 63 (relating to
juvenile matters).

(d) Trial and punishment.--
(1) Notwithstanding section 4136(a) (relating to rights

of persons charged with certain indirect criminal contempts),
the defendant shall not have the right to a jury trial on
the charge of indirect criminal contempt; however, the
defendant shall be entitled to counsel.

(2) A sentence for indirect criminal contempt under
this chapter may include:

(i) A fine of not less than $300 nor more than
$1,000 and imprisonment for a period not exceeding six
months.

(ii) A fine of not less than $300 nor more than
$1,000 and supervised probation for a period not
exceeding six months.

(iii) An order for any other relief provided for
under this chapter.
(3) Upon conviction for indirect criminal contempt and

at the request of the plaintiff, the court shall also grant
an extension of the protection order for an additional term.

(4) Upon conviction for indirect criminal contempt, the
court shall notify the sheriff of the jurisdiction which
issued the protection order of the conviction.

(5) All moneys received under this section shall be
distributed in the following order of priority:

(i) One hundred dollars shall be forwarded to the
Commonwealth and shall be used by the Pennsylvania State
Police to establish and maintain the Statewide registry
of protection orders provided for in section 62A04(c)
(relating to responsibilities of law enforcement
agencies).

(ii) One hundred dollars shall be retained by the
county and shall be used to carry out the provisions of
this chapter as follows:

(A) Fifty dollars shall be used by the sheriff.
(B) Fifty dollars shall be used by the court.

(iii) One hundred dollars shall be forwarded to the
Department of Public Welfare for use for victims of
sexual assault in accordance with the provisions of
section 2333 of the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.177,
No.175), known as The Administrative Code of 1929.

(iv) Any additional money shall be distributed in
the manner under subparagraph (i).

(e) Notification upon release.--
(1) The appropriate releasing authority or other

official as designated by local rule shall use all reasonable
means to notify the victim sufficiently in advance of the
release of the offender from any incarceration imposed under



subsection (d). Notification shall be required for work
release, furlough, medical leave, community service,
discharge, escape and recapture. Notification shall include
the terms and conditions imposed on any temporary release
from custody.

(2) The plaintiff must keep the appropriate releasing
authority or other official as designated by local rule
advised of contact information; failure to do so will
constitute waiver of any right to notification under this
section.
(f) Multiple remedies.--Disposition of a charge of indirect

criminal contempt shall not preclude the prosecution of other
criminal charges associated with the incident giving rise to
the contempt, nor shall disposition of other criminal charges
preclude prosecution of indirect criminal contempt associated
with the criminal conduct giving rise to the charges.
§ 62A15. Civil contempt or modification for violation of order

or agreement.
(a) General rule.--A plaintiff may file a petition for civil

contempt with the issuing court alleging that the defendant has
violated any provision of an order or court- approved consent
agreement entered into under this chapter.

(b) Civil contempt order.--Upon finding of a violation of
a protection order or court-approved consent agreement issued
under this chapter, the court, either pursuant to petition for
civil contempt or on its own accord, may hold the defendant in
civil contempt and constrain the defendant in accordance with
law.

(c) Sentencing.--A sentence for civil contempt under this
chapter may include imprisonment until the defendant complies
with provisions of the order or court-approved consent agreement
or demonstrates the intent to do so, but in no case shall a
term of imprisonment under this section exceed a period of six
months.

(d) Jury trial and counsel.--Notwithstanding section 4136(a)
(relating to rights of persons charged with certain indirect
criminal contempts), the defendant shall not have a right to a
jury trial; however, the defendant shall be entitled to counsel.
§ 62A16. Confidentiality.

(a) Nature of privilege.--
(1) Unless a victim of sexual violence who consults a

sexual assault counselor for the purpose of securing advice,
counseling or assistance waives the privilege in a signed
writing prior to testimony or disclosure, a sexual assault
counselor or a coparticipant who is present during sexual
assault counseling or advocacy shall not be competent nor
permitted to testify, release the records of or to otherwise
disclose confidential communications made to or by the
counselor by or to the victim. The privilege shall terminate
upon the death of the victim.

(2) Neither the sexual assault counselor nor the victim
shall waive the privilege of confidential communications by
reporting facts of physical or sexual violence under 23
Pa.C.S. Ch. 63 (relating to child protective services), a
Federal or State mandatory reporting statute or a local
mandatory reporting ordinance.
(b) Scope.--The provisions of this section applicable to

the victim of sexual violence shall also apply to a person who
seeks advice, counseling or assistance from a sexual assault
counselor regarding the victim.
§ 62A17. Procedure and other remedies.



(a) General rule.--Unless otherwise indicated under this
chapter, a proceeding under this chapter shall be in accordance
with applicable general rules and shall be in addition to any
other available civil or criminal remedies. The plaintiff and
the defendant may seek modification of a protection order issued
under section 62A07 (relating to relief) at any time during the
pendency of the order. Except as otherwise provided in this
chapter, modification may be ordered after the filing of a
petition for modification, service of the petition and a hearing
on the petition.

(b) Remedies for bad faith.--Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, upon finding that an individual commenced a
proceeding under this chapter in bad faith, a court shall direct
the individual to pay to the defendant actual damages and
reasonable attorney fees. Failure to prove an allegation of
continued risk of harm by a preponderance of the evidence shall
not, by itself, result in a finding of bad faith.
§ 62A18. Applicability.

The provisions of the following acts relating to victims who
are protected by an order issued under 23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61
(relating to protection from abuse) shall apply also to victims
who are protected by an order issued under this chapter:

(1) The act of November 24, 1998 (P.L.882, No.111),
known as the Crime Victims Act.

(2) 23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 67 (relating to domestic and sexual
violence victim address confidentiality).

§ 62A19. Inability to pay.
(a) Order for installment payments.--Upon plea and proof

that a person is without the financial means to pay a fine, a
fee or a cost, a court may order payment of money owed in
installments appropriate to the circumstances of the person and
shall fix the amounts, times and manner of payment.

(b) Electronic payment.--The treasurer of each county may
allow the use of credit cards and bank cards in the payment of
money owed under this chapter.
§ 62A20. Construction.

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to preclude an
action for wrongful use of civil process in accordance with
Subchapter E of Chapter 83 (relating to wrongful use of civil
proceedings) or criminal prosecution for a violation of 18
Pa.C.S. Ch. 49 (relating to falsification and intimidation).

Section 2. The definition of "delinquent act" in section
6302 of Title 42 is amended to read:
§ 6302. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter
shall have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the
meanings given to them in this section:

* * *
"Delinquent act."

(1) The term means an act designated a crime under the
law of this Commonwealth, or of another state if the act
occurred in that state, or under Federal law, or under local
ordinances or an act which constitutes indirect criminal
contempt under Chapter 62A (relating to protection of
victims of sexual violence or intimidation) with respect to
sexual violence or 23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to protection
from abuse).

(2) The term shall not include:
(i) The crime of murder.
(ii) Any of the following prohibited conduct where

the child was 15 years of age or older at the time of
the alleged conduct and a deadly weapon as defined in



18 Pa.C.S. § 2301 (relating to definitions) was used
during the commission of the offense which, if committed
by an adult, would be classified as:

(A) Rape as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121
(relating to rape).

(B) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse as
defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary
deviate sexual intercourse).

(C) Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 2702(a)(1) or (2) (relating to aggravated assault).

(D) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. §
3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or (iii) (relating to robbery).

(E) Robbery of motor vehicle as defined in 18
Pa.C.S. § 3702 (relating to robbery of motor
vehicle).

(F) Aggravated indecent assault as defined in
18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent
assault).

(G) Kidnapping as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2901
(relating to kidnapping).

(H) Voluntary manslaughter.
(I) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to

commit murder or any of these crimes as provided in
18 Pa.C.S. §§ 901 (relating to criminal attempt),
902 (relating to criminal solicitation) and 903
(relating to criminal conspiracy).
(iii) Any of the following prohibited conduct where

the child was 15 years of age or older at the time of
the alleged conduct and has been previously adjudicated
delinquent of any of the following prohibited conduct
which, if committed by an adult, would be classified as:

(A) Rape as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121.
(B) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse as

defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3123.
(C) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. §

3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or (iii).
(D) Robbery of motor vehicle as defined in 18

Pa.C.S. § 3702.
(E) Aggravated indecent assault as defined in

18 Pa.C.S. § 3125.
(F) Kidnapping as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2901.
(G) Voluntary manslaughter.
(H) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to

commit murder or any of these crimes as provided in
18 Pa.C.S. §§ 901, 902 and 903.
(iv) Summary offenses, unless the child fails to

comply with a lawful sentence imposed thereunder, in
which event notice of such fact shall be certified to
the court.

(v) A crime committed by a child who has been found
guilty in a criminal proceeding for other than a summary
offense.

* * *
Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2015.

APPROVED--The 21st day of March, A.D. 2014.

TOM CORBETT


