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AN ACT

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for burglary, for
robbery, for grading of theft offenses and for the offense
of retail theft.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3502(c)(2), 3701(b) and 3903(a) and
(a.2) of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are
amended to read:
§ 3502. Burglary.

* * *
(c) Grading.--

* * *
(2) [An] As follows:

(i) Except under subparagraph (ii), an offense under
subsection (a)(4) is a felony of the second degree.

(ii) If the actor's intent upon entering the
building, structure or portion under subparagraph (i)
is to commit theft of a controlled substance or designer
drug as those terms are defined in section 2 of the act
of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The
Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act,
burglary is a felony of the first degree.

* * *
§ 3701. Robbery.

* * *
(b) Grading.--[Robbery]

(1) Except as provided under paragraph (2), robbery
under subsection (a)(1)(iv) and (vi) is a felony of the
second degree; robbery under subsection (a)(1)(v) is a felony
of the third degree; otherwise, it is a felony of the first
degree.

(2) If the object of a robbery under paragraph (1) is
a controlled substance or designer drug as those terms are
defined in section 2 of the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233,
No.64), known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and
Cosmetic Act, robbery is a felony of the first degree.

§ 3903. Grading of theft offenses.
(a) Felony of the second degree.--Theft constitutes a felony

of the second degree if:
(1) The offense is committed during a manmade disaster,

a natural disaster or a war-caused disaster and constitutes
a violation of section 3921 (relating to theft by unlawful
taking or disposition), 3925 (relating to receiving stolen
property), 3928 (relating to unauthorized use of automobiles
and other vehicles) or 3929 (relating to retail theft).

(2) The property stolen is a firearm.
(3) In the case of theft by receiving stolen property,

the property received, retained or disposed of is a firearm.



(4) The property stolen is any amount of anhydrous
ammonia.

(5) The amount involved is $100,000 or more but less
than $500,000.
* * *
(a.2) Felony of the first degree.--[Theft] Except as

provided in subsections (a) and (a.1), theft constitutes a
felony of the first degree if[,]:

(1) in the case of theft by receiving stolen property,
the property received, retained or disposed of is a firearm
and the receiver is in the business of buying or selling
stolen property[.]; or

(2) the amount involved is $500,000 or more.
* * *
Section 2. Section 3929(b)(1)(v) of Title 18 is amended and

the section is amended by adding a subsection to read:
§ 3929. Retail theft.

* * *
(b) Grading.--

(1) Retail theft constitutes a:
* * *
(v) Felony of the third degree when the amount

involved exceeds [$2,000] $1,000 or if the merchandise
involved is a firearm or a motor vehicle.
* * *

(b.1) Calculation of prior offenses.--For the purposes of
this section, in determining whether an offense is a first,
second, third or subsequent offense, the court shall include a
conviction, acceptance of accelerated rehabilitative disposition
or other form of preliminary disposition, occurring before the
sentencing on the present violation, for an offense under this
section, an offense substantially similar to an offense under
this section or under the prior laws of this Commonwealth or a
similar offense under the statutes of any other state or of the
United States.

* * *
Section 3. The amendment of 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 3502(c)(2),

3701(b), 3903 and 3929(b)(1)(v) shall apply to offenses
committed on or after the effective date of this section.

Section 4. The amendment or addition of 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 3903
and 3929(b.1) shall apply to sentences imposed on or after the
effective date of this section.

Section 5. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 23rd day of December, A.D. 2013.

TOM CORBETT


