VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - LEARNERS' PERMITS AND OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC-CONTROL DEVICES

Act of Dec. 23, 2013, P.L. 1251, No. 126

C1. 75

Session of 2013 No. 2013-126

HB 892

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in licensing of drivers, further providing for learners' permits; and, in operation of vehicles general provisions, further providing for obedience to traffic-control devices.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1505(d) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read: § 1505. Learners' permits.

* * *

* * *

- (d) Duration of permit. --
- (1) A learner's permit shall be valid for a period of one year after date of issue, or until the holder of the permit has failed the examination as authorized in section 1508 (relating to examination of applicant for driver's license) three times within the one-year period.
- (2) A person may reapply for a motorcycle learner's permit no more frequently than three times in a five-year period from when the person first applies. A motorcycle learner's permit is not renewable.

Section 2. Section 3111(a.1) of Title 75, added November 25, 2013 (P.L.974, No.89), is amended to read: \$ 3111. Obedience to traffic-control devices.

(a.1) Penalty.--

- (1) A person who violates this section commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of \$150. No [other] costs or surcharges[, including those described in] imposed under 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.1 (relating to costs) [and] or section 6506 (relating to surcharge)[,] shall be assessed or imposed upon a conviction under this [paragraph] section.
- (2) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, including 42 Pa.C.S. \S 3733(a) (relating to deposits into account), the fine collected under paragraph (1) shall be deposited as follows:
 - (i) Twenty-five dollars of the fine shall be deposited as provided under 42 Pa.C.S. § 3733(a).
 - (ii) After deposit of the amount under subparagraph(i), the remaining portion of the fine shall be depositedinto the Public Transportation Trust Fund.
- Section 3. This act shall take effect as follows:
 - (1) This section shall take effect immediately.
- (2) The amendment of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3111(a.1) shall take effect January 1, 2014, or immediately, whichever is later.
- (3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 23rd day of December, A.D. 2013. TOM CORBETT