PROBATE, ESTATES AND FIDUCIARIES CODE (20 PA.C.S.) - PAYMENTS TO FAMILY AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS, SETTLEMENT OF SMALL ESTATES ON PETITION AND ESTATES NOT EXCEEDING \$25,000

Act of Jul. 2, 2013, P.L. 199, No. 35

C1. 20

Session of 2013 No. 2013-35

HB 513

AN ACT

Amending Title 20 (Decedents, Estates and Fiduciaries) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for payments to family and funeral directors, for settlement of small estates on petition and for estates not exceeding \$25,000.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3101(b) and (c), 3102 and 3531 of Title 20 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 3101. Payments to family and funeral directors. \star * *

- (b) Deposit account. -- Any bank, savings association, savings and loan association, building and loan association, credit union or other savings organization, at any time after the death of a depositor, member or certificate holder, [may] shall pay the amount on deposit or represented by the certificate, when the total standing to the credit of the decedent in that institution does not exceed [\$3,500] \$10,000, to the spouse, any child, the father or mother or any sister or brother (preference being given in the order named) of the deceased depositor, member or certificate holder, provided that a receipted funeral bill or an affidavit, executed by a licensed funeral director which sets forth that satisfactory arrangements for payment of funeral services have been made, is presented. Any bank, association, credit union or other savings organization making such a payment shall be released to the same extent as if payment had been made to a duly appointed personal representative of the decedent and it shall not be required to see to the application thereof. Any person to whom payment is made shall be answerable therefor to anyone prejudiced by an improper distribution.
- (c) Patient's care account. -- When the decedent was a qualified recipient of medical assistance from the Department of Public Welfare, the facility in which he was a patient may make payment of funds, if any, remaining in the patient's care account, for the decedent's burial expenses to a licensed funeral director in an amount not exceeding [\$3,500] \$10,000 whether or not a personal representative has been appointed. After the payment of decedent's burial expenses, the facility may pay the balance of decedent's patient's care account, as long as the payments, including the payment for burial expenses, does not exceed [\$4,000] \$10,000, to the spouse, any child, the father or mother or any sister or brother (preference being given in the order named) of the deceased patient. Any facility making such a payment shall be released to the same extent as if payment had been made to a duly appointed personal representative of the decedent and it shall not be required to

see to the application thereof. Any licensed funeral director or other person to whom payment is made shall be answerable therefor to anyone prejudiced by an improper distribution.

§ 3102. Settlement of small estates on petition.

When any person dies domiciled in the Commonwealth owning property (exclusive of real estate and of property payable under section 3101 (relating to payments to family and funeral directors), but including personal property claimed as the family exemption) of a gross value not exceeding [\$25,000] \$50,000, the orphans' court division of the county wherein the decedent was domiciled at the time of his death, upon petition of any party in interest, in its discretion, with or without appraisement, and with such notice as the court shall direct, and whether or not letters have been issued or a will probated, may direct distribution of the property (including property not paid under section 3101) to the parties entitled thereto. The authority of the court to award distribution of personal property under this section shall not be restricted because of the decedent's ownership of real estate, regardless of its value. The decree of distribution so made shall constitute sufficient authority to all transfer agents, registrars and others dealing with the property of the estate to recognize the persons named therein as entitled to receive the property to be distributed without administration, and shall in all respects have the same effect as a decree of distribution after an accounting by a personal representative. Within one year after such a decree of distribution has been made, any party in interest may file a petition to revoke it because an improper distribution has been ordered. If the court shall find that an improper distribution has been ordered, it shall revoke the decree and shall direct restitution as equity and justice shall require.

§ 3531. Estates not exceeding [\$25,000] **\$50,000**.

When the gross real and personal estate of a decedent does not exceed the value of [\$25,000] \$50,000, the personal representative, after the expiration of one year from the date of the first complete advertisement of the grant of letters, may present his petition to the court with an annexed account showing the administration of the estate, the distribution theretofore made and suggesting the proper distribution of the estate not theretofore distributed. Thereupon, the court, upon satisfactory proof of notice to all known parties in interest, may approve the distribution theretofore made and order distribution of the assets not theretofore distributed and discharge the personal representative and his sureties from future liability without the expense of proceedings as in a formal account. The court may discharge only the surety from future liability, and may allow the personal representative to continue without surety upon condition that no further assets shall come into the possession of the personal representative until he files another bond, with sufficient surety, as required by the register.

Section 2. The amendment of 20 Pa.C.S. §§ 3101(b) and (c), 3102 and 3531 shall apply to estates of decedents dying on or after the effective date of this section.

Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 2nd day of July, A.D. 2013.