VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - REGISTRATION OF SNOWMOBILE OR ATV, CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR SNOWMOBILE OR ATV, FEES AND RECORDS, VINTAGE SNOWMOBILE PERMITS AND OPERATION BY PERSONS UNDER AGE SIXTEEN

Act of Jul. 5, 2012, P.L. 1000, No. 113 Cl. 75

Session of 2012

No. 2012-113

HB 2151

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles, further providing for registration of snowmobile or ATV, for certificate of title for snowmobile or ATV, for fees and for records; providing for vintage snowmobile permits; and further providing for operation by persons under age sixteen.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of "snowmobile" in section 7702 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended and the section is amended by adding definitions to read: § 7702. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:

"Snowmobile." An engine-driven vehicle which is all of the following:

- (1) Is designed to travel over snow or ice.
- (2) Has an endless belt track or tracks.
- (3) Is steered by a ski or skis.
- (4) Has an overall width of 48 inches or less. The term does not include a farm tractor, construction equipment, military vehicle, vehicle with inflatable tires or machinery used strictly for the grooming of snowmobile trails. The term includes vintage snowmobiles.

* * *

"Vintage snowmobile." A snowmobile that is at least 25 years old and is not operated in this Commonwealth except at vintage snowmobile events.

"Vintage snowmobile event." An organized ride or rally for owners and operators of vintage snowmobiles, for which a permit has been issued under section 7718(a) (relating to vintage snowmobile permits) and carried and exhibited in compliance with section 7718(b) and which meets all of the following conditions:

- It is open to the public and publicized as such.
- (2) It takes place on a specified date or dates and within a specified start and end time.
- (3) It takes place on a designated trail with a specified beginning and end point.

Section 2. Section 7706(a)(1) of Title 75 is amended to read:

- § 7706. Restricted account.
 - (a) Deposit and use of moneys.--
 - (1) The department shall deposit the following into a restricted account, which is hereby established:

- (i) all moneys received from the registration of and issuance of certificates of title for snowmobiles and ATV's and from the issuance of vintage snowmobile permits;
- (ii) all revenue from the sale of any publications or services relating to snowmobiles and ATV's; and
- (iii) all fines, penalties, fees and costs assessed and collected as a result of enforcement activities conducted by the department's law enforcement personnel under this chapter.

Section 3. The heading of Subchapter B of Chapter 77 of Title 75 is amended to read:

SUBCHAPTER B

CERTIFICATES OF TITLE [AND REGISTRATION], REGISTRATION AND PERMITS

Section 4. Section 7711.1(f) of Title 75 is amended by adding a paragraph to read: § 7711.1. Registration of snowmobile or ATV.

(f) Exemptions from registration.--Subsection (a) does not apply if:

(5) The snowmobile is a vintage snowmobile.

Section 5. Sections 7712.1(g), $77\overline{15.2}(a)$ and 7716 of Title 75 are amended to read:

- § 7712.1. Certificate of title for snowmobile or ATV. * * *
- (g) Registration without certificate of title prohibited.—Except as provided in subsection (b), the department shall not issue a registration certificate or limited registration certificate for a snowmobile or ATV or a vintage snowmobile permit for a vintage snowmobile unless a certificate of title has been issued by the department to the owner or an application for a certificate of title has been delivered by the owner to the department.

 * * *

§ 7715.2. Fees.

- (a) Fees.--Except as provided in subsection (b), the department shall collect the following fees:
 - (1) Certificate of title, \$22.50.
 - (2) Expiration sticker, \$20.
 - (2.1) Vintage snowmobile permit, \$20 .
 - (3) Dealer registration, \$25.
 - (4) Replacement, due to loss or damage, of registration certificate, limited registration certificate, registration decal, registration plate [or], expiration sticker or vintage snowmobile permit, \$5.
 - (5) Transfer of registration pursuant to section 7711.1 (relating to registration of snowmobile or ATV), \$5.
 - (6) Recording the name of a secured party on a
 certificate of title, \$5.
 * * *

§ 7716. Records.

The department shall maintain a record, which shall be made available to all enforcement agencies, of:

- (1) The registration number for each snowmobile and ATV for which a registration certificate or limited registration certificate is issued.
- (2) The name and address of the owner of each snowmobile and ATV for which a registration certificate or limited registration certificate is issued.

- (3) The permit number for each vintage snowmobile for which a vintage snowmobile permit is issued.
- (4) The name and address of the owner of each vintage snowmobile for which a vintage snowmobile permit is issued. Section 6. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read: § 7718. Vintage snowmobile permits.
- (a) Issuance of permits.--Upon receipt of an application upon a form prescribed and furnished by the department which shall contain information required by the department and which shall be accompanied by the required fee and any other information the department shall require, the department shall issue to an owner of a vintage snowmobile a vintage snowmobile permit containing a permit number.
- (b) Carrying and exhibiting permit. -- Every permit shall, at all times while the vehicle is being operated, be in the possession of the person driving or in control of the vehicle or carried in the vehicle and shall be exhibited on demand of a police officer or authorized department employee.
- (c) Not transferable.--A vintage snowmobile permit is not transferable to a successor owner or to another vehicle. On transfer of ownership of a vintage snowmobile for which a vintage snowmobile permit has been issued, the permit shall become invalid.
- (d) Suspension or revocation.--The department may suspend or revoke a vintage snowmobile permit upon conviction of the holder of an offense under this chapter. A suspended or revoked vintage snowmobile permit is invalid.

Section 7. Section 7725(h) of Title 75 is amended to read: \$ 7725. Operation by persons under age sixteen.

(h) Snowmobile and ATV safety program.—The department shall implement a comprehensive snowmobile and ATV information, safety education and training program which shall include the preparation and dissemination of information and safety advice to the public and training of operators. The program shall provide for the training of youthful operators and **others who wish to receive training. It shall also provide** for the issuance of snowmobile or ATV safety certificates to those who successfully complete the training provided under the program.

Section 8. This act shall take effect in 120 days.

APPROVED--The 5th day of July, A.D. 2012.

TOM CORBETT