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AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, further providing for driving while operating
privilege is suspended or revoked, for duties of drivers in
accidents involving death or personal injury and for
subsequent convictions of certain offenses.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 1543(b)(1.1)(i), 3742(b)(3) and 6503(a)
of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are
amended to read:
§ 1543. Driving while operating privilege is suspended or

revoked.
* * *
(b) Certain offenses.--

* * *
(1.1) (i) A person who has an amount of alcohol by
weight in his blood that is equal to or greater than
.02% at the time of testing or who at the time of testing
has in his blood any amount of a Schedule I or
nonprescribed Schedule II or III controlled substance,
as defined in the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64),
known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and
Cosmetic Act, or its metabolite or who refuses testing
of blood or breath and who drives a motor vehicle on any
highway or trafficway of this Commonwealth at a time
when the person's operating privilege is suspended or
revoked as a condition of acceptance of Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition for a violation of section
3802 or former section 3731 or because of a violation
of section
1547(b)(1) or 3802 or former section 3731 or is suspended
under section 1581 for an offense substantially similar
to a violation of section 3802 or former section 3731
shall, upon a first conviction, be guilty of a summary
offense and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $1,000
and to undergo imprisonment for a period of not less
than 90 days.

* * *
§ 3742. Accidents involving death or personal injury.

* * *
(b) Penalties.--

* * *
(3) (i) If the victim dies, any person violating
subsection (a) commits a felony of the [third] second
degree, and the sentencing court shall order the person
to serve a minimum term of imprisonment of not less than



one year and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500,
notwithstanding any other provision of law.

(ii) In addition to the minimum term of imprisonment
provided for in subparagraph (i), the Pennsylvania
Commission on Sentencing shall provide within its
guidelines a sentencing enhancement if the victim dies
as the result of a violation of subsection (a). The
provisions of this subparagraph shall not be an element
of the crime, and notice of the provisions of this
subparagraph shall not be required prior to conviction,
but reasonable notice of the Commonwealth's intention
to proceed under this subparagraph shall be provided
after conviction and before sentencing.

* * *
§ 6503. Subsequent convictions of certain offenses.

(a) General offenses.--Every person convicted of a second
or subsequent violation of any of the following provisions shall
be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $200 nor more than
$1,000 or to imprisonment for not more than six months, or both:

Section 1543(a) (relating to driving while operating
privilege is suspended or revoked) except as set forth in
subsection (a.1).

Section 3367 (relating to racing on highways).
[Section 3733 (relating to fleeing or attempting to elude

police officer).]
Section 3734 (relating to driving without lights to avoid

identification or arrest).
Section 3748 (relating to false reports).

* * *
Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 5th day of July, A.D. 2012.
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