JUDICIAL CODE (42 PA.C.S) - SURCHARGES AND COMMONWEALTH PORTION OF FINES

C1. 42

Act of Jul. 7, 2011, P.L. 207, No. 30

Session of 2011 No. 2011-30

HB 38

AN ACT

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in governance of the system, further providing for establishment of fees and charges and for costs; in facilities and supplies, further providing for surcharge; and, in budget and finance, further providing for Commonwealth portion of fines.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 1725(c)(3)(ii), 1725.1(a)(4) and (7), 3571(c)(2)(vi) and (vii) and 3733.1(a)(1) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read: § 1725. Establishment of fees and charges.

(c) Counties of the first class.-- * * *

(3) The fees to be received by the prothonotary on behalf of the Philadelphia Municipal Court in civil actions shall be as follows:

§ 1725.1. Costs.

- (a) Civil cases.--Subject to subsection (f), the costs to be charged by magisterial district judges in every civil case, except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be as follows:
 - (4) Actions involving more than \$4,000 but not more than [\$8,000] **\$12,000** \$75.00
 - (7) Landlord-tenant actions involving more than \$4,000 but not more than [\$8,000] \$12,000 ... \$75.00
- \S 3571. Commonwealth portion of fines, etc.
 - (c) Costs in magisterial district judge proceedings.- * * *
 - (2) Amounts payable to the Commonwealth:

| <pre>(vi) Assumpsit or trespass involving:</pre> | |
|--|---------|
| (A) \$500 or less | \$12.50 |
| (B) More than \$500 but not more | |
| than \$2,000 | \$20.00 |
| (C) More than \$2,000 but not more | |
| than \$4,000 | \$30.00 |
| (D) More than \$4,000 but not more | |
| than [\$8,000] \$12,000 | \$50.00 |
| (vii) Landlord-tenant proceeding | |
| involving: | |

| (A) | \$2,000 or less | \$20.00 |
|------|--------------------------------|---------|
| (B) | More than \$2,000 but not more | |
| than | \$4,000 | \$25.00 |
| (C) | More than \$4,000 but not more | |
| than | [\$8,000] \$12,000 | \$35.00 |
| + + | | |

§ 3733.1. Surcharge.

- (a) Imposition of surcharge.--In addition to each fee imposed under section 3733(a.1) (relating to deposits into account), except as set forth in subsection (b), the following apply:
 - (1) A surcharge of \$11.25 shall be charged and collected [for a period of 25 months beginning on the effective date of this section]. This paragraph shall expire December 31, 2014.

* * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED--The 7th day of July, A.D. 2011.

TOM CORBETT