VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND OPERATION OF ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES AND SNOWMOBILES BY PERSONS UNDER SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE

Act of Jun. 29, 2006, P.L. 284, No. 61 Cl. 75 Session of 2006 No. 2006-61

SB 1056

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for commercial driver's license requirements and for operation of all-terrain vehicles and snowmobiles by persons under sixteen years of age.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1606(b) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended by adding a paragraph to read: § 1606. Requirement for commercial driver's license.

* * *

* * *

(b) Exemptions.--The following persons are not required to obtain a commercial driver's license in order to drive the commercial motor vehicle specified:

(6) A driver with a Class C license operating a school bus, school vehicle or other commercial vehicle at the direction of authorized emergency management personnel in a time of declared Federal, State or local emergency. A person driving a school bus, school vehicle or other commercial vehicle pursuant to this paragraph shall not be subject to sanctions under the provisions of this chapter or section 3742.1 (relating to accidents involving death or personal injury while not properly licensed).

Section 2. Section 7725(b), (c) and (e) of Title 75 are amended and the section is amended by adding a subsection to read:

\$ 7725. Operation by persons under age sixteen.

* * *

(b) Operation **of an ATV** by persons under eight years of age.--No person under eight years of age shall operate [a snowmobile or] **an** ATV upon State-owned land.

* * *

(b.2) Operation of a snowmobile by persons under ten years of age.--No person under ten years of age shall operate a snowmobile upon State-owned land.

(c) Snowmobile and ATV safety certification.--No person 8 to 15 years of age shall operate [a snowmobile or] an ATV and no person between 10 and 15 years of age shall operate a snowmobile in this Commonwealth unless the person satisfies one of the following conditions:

(1) Is under the direct supervision of a certified snowmobile or ATV safety instructor during a safety training course.

(2) Is on land owned or leased by a parent or legal guardian.

(3) Has received safety training as prescribed by the department and has received the appropriate safety certificate issued by the department.

(4) Holds an appropriate safety certificate issued under the authority of another state or Province of Canada and recognized by the department.

* * *

(e) Permitting unauthorized operation.--No owner of a snowmobile or an ATV shall authorize or permit the operation thereof within this Commonwealth by any person under 16 years of age unless the person under 16 years of age is the holder of a valid and appropriate safety certificate, or except as authorized in subsections (b) , (b.2) and (c).

* * * Section 3. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED--The 29th day of June, A. D. 2006.

EDWARD G. RENDELL