CRIMES CODE (18 PA.C.S.) - AMEND BAD CHECKS

Act of Dec. 20, 1996, P.L. 1531, No. 201 Cl.

Session of 1996
No. 1996-201

HB 2401
AN ACT

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for bad checks.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 4105(b) and (c) of Title 18 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 4105. Bad checks.
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(b) [Presumption] Presumptions .--For the purposes of this
section as well as in any prosecution for theft committed by
means of a bad check, the following shall apply:

(1) [an] An issuer is presumed to know that the check or
order (other than a post-dated check or order) would not be
paid, if:

[ (1) the issuer had no account with the drawee at the
time the check or order was issued; or

(2) payment was refused by the drawee for lack of funds,
upon presentation within 30 days after issue, and the issuer
failed to make good within ten days after receiving notice of
that refusal.]

(i) payment was refused because the issuer had no
such account with the drawee at the time the check or
order was issued; or

(ii) payment was refused by the drawee for lack of
funds, upon presentation within 30 days after issue, and
the issuer failed to make good within ten days after
receiving notice of that refusal.

Notice of refusal may be given to the issuer orally or in
writing by any person. Proof that notice was sent by registered
or certified mail, regardless of whether a receipt was requested
or returned, to the address printed on the check or, if none,
then to the issuer's last known address, shall raise a
presumption that the notice was received.

(2) A check or order stamped "NSF" or "insufficient
funds" shall raise a presumption that payment was refused by
the drawee for lack of funds.

(3) A check or order stamped "account closed" or "no
such account" or "counterfeit" shall raise a presumption that
payment was refused by the drawee because the issuer had no
such account with the drawee at the time the check or order
was issued.

(c) Grading.--
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(1) An offense under this section is [a misdemeanor of
the second degree if the amount of the check or order exceeds
$500 or if it is a third or subsequent offense within a five-
year period; otherwise it is a summary offense.]

(i) a summary offense if the check or order is less
than $200;

(ii) a misdemeanor of the third degree if the check
or order is $200 or more but less than $500;

(iii) a misdemeanor of the second degree if the
check or order is $500 or more but less than $1,000;

(iv) a misdemeanor of the first degree if the check
or order is $1,000 or more but is less than $75,000; or

(v) a felony of the third degree if the check or
order is $75,000 or more.

(2) When the offense is a third or subsequent offense
within a five-year period, regardless of the amount of the
check or order and regardless of the grading of the prior
offenses, an offense under this section is a misdemeanor of
the first degree unless the amount of the check or order
involved in the third or subsequent offense is $75,000 or
more, then the offense is a felony of the third degree.

*  x  Xx

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
APPROVED--The 20th day of December, A. D. 1996.

THOMAS J. RIDGE



