
           JUDICIARY AND JUDICIAL PROCEDURE (42 PA.C.S) - AMEND

         Act of Mar. 15, 1995, Special Session 1, P.L. 972, No. 6     Cl. 42

                      Special Session No. 1 of 1995

                                No. 1995-6

     SB 10

                                  AN ACT

     Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the

        Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for law

        enforcement records, juvenile history record information and

        adjudications involving certain children.

        The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

     hereby enacts as follows:

        Section 1.  Sections 6302, 6308, 6309 and 6341(a) of Title 42

     of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

      § 6302.  Definitions.

        The following words and phrases when used in this chapter

     shall have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the

     meanings given to them in this section:

        "Child."  An individual who:

            (1)  is under the age of 18 years;

            (2)  is under the age of 21 years who committed an act of

        delinquency before reaching the age of 18 years; or

            (3)  was adjudicated dependent before reaching the age of

        18 years and who, while engaged in a course of instruction or

        treatment, requests the court to retain jurisdiction until

        the course has been completed, but in no event shall a child

        remain in a course of instruction or treatment past the age

        of 21 years.

        "Court."  The court of common pleas.

        "Custodian."  A person other than a parent or legal guardian,

     who stands in loco parentis to the child, or a person to whom

     legal custody of the child has been given by order of a court.

        ["Dangerous juvenile offender."  A child who has been

     determined by the court to meet all of the following

     requirements:

            (1)  Is 15 years of age or older.

            (2)  Has been adjudicated delinquent for one or more of

        the following offenses:

                (i)  Attempted murder.

                (ii)  Voluntary manslaughter.

                (iii)  Rape.

                (iv)  Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.

                (v)  Kidnapping.

                (vi)  Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. §

            3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or (iii) (relating to robbery).

                (vii)  Felonious aggravated assault as defined in 18

            Pa.C.S. § 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

                (viii)  Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon.



                (ix)  Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)

            (relating to arson and related offenses).

            (3)  Has been previously adjudicated delinquent

        subsequent to the child's 12th birthday for one or more of

        the following offenses:

                (i)  Attempted murder.

                (ii)  Voluntary manslaughter.

                (iii)  Rape.

                (iv)  Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.

                (v)  Kidnapping.

                (vi)  Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. §

            3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or (iii) (relating to robbery).

                (vii)  Felonious aggravated assault as defined in 18

            Pa.C.S. § 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

                (viii)  Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon.

                (ix)  Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)

            (relating to arson and related offenses).

        An adjudication for an offense arising from the same criminal

        episode as the offense considered under paragraph (2) shall

        not be considered an adjudication for the purpose of this

        paragraph.]

        "Delinquent act."

            (1)  The term means an act designated a crime under the

        law of this Commonwealth, or of another state if the act

        occurred in that state, or under Federal law, or under local

        ordinances.

            (2)  The term shall not include:

                (i)  The crime of murder.

                (ii)  Summary offenses, unless the child fails to

            comply with a lawful sentence imposed thereunder, in

            which event notice of such fact shall be certified to the

            court.

                (iii)  A crime committed by a child who has been

            found guilty in a criminal proceeding for other than a

            summary offense.

        "Delinquent child."  A child ten years of age or older whom

     the court has found to have committed a delinquent act and is in

     need of treatment, supervision or rehabilitation.

        "Dependent child."  A child who:

            (1)  is without proper parental care or control,

        subsistence, education as required by law, or other care or

        control necessary for his physical, mental, or emotional

        health, or morals;

            (2)  has been placed for care or adoption in violation of

        law;

            (3)  has been abandoned by his parents, guardian, or

        other custodian;

            (4)  is without a parent, guardian, or legal custodian;

            (5)  while subject to compulsory school attendance is

        habitually and without justification truant from school;

            (6)  has committed a specific act or acts of habitual

        disobedience of the reasonable and lawful commands of his

        parent, guardian or other custodian and who is ungovernable

        and found to be in need of care, treatment or supervision;

            (7)  is under the age of ten years and has committed a



        delinquent act;

            (8)  has been formerly adjudicated dependent, and is

        under the jurisdiction of the court, subject to its

        conditions or placements and who commits an act which is

        defined as ungovernable in paragraph (6); or

            (9)  has been referred pursuant to section 6323 (relating

        to informal adjustment), and who commits an act which is

        defined as ungovernable in paragraph (6).

        "Protective supervision."  Supervision ordered by the court

     of children found to be dependent.

        "Shelter care."  Temporary care of a child in physically

     unrestricted facilities.

      § 6308.  Law enforcement records.

        (a)  General rule.--[Except as provided in section 6309

     (relating to juvenile history record information), the law] Law

     enforcement records and files concerning a child shall be kept

     separate from the records and files of arrests of adults. Unless

     a charge of delinquency is transferred for criminal prosecution

     under section 6355 (relating to transfer to criminal

     proceedings), the interest of national security requires, or the

     court otherwise orders in the interest of the child, the records

     and files shall not be open to public inspection or their

     contents disclosed to the public except as provided in

     subsection (b); but inspection of the records and files is

     permitted by:

            (1)  The court having the child before it in any

        proceeding.

            (2)  Counsel for a party to the proceeding.

            (3)  The officers of institutions or agencies to whom the

        child is committed.

            (4)  Law enforcement officers of other jurisdictions when

        necessary for the discharge of their official duties.

            (5)  A court in which the child is convicted of a

        criminal offense for the purpose of a presentence report or

        other dispositional proceeding, or by officials of penal

        institutions and other penal facilities to which he is

        committed, or by a parole board in considering his parole or

        discharge or in exercising supervision over him.

        (b)  Public availability.--

            (1)  The contents of law enforcement records and files

        concerning a child shall not be disclosed to the public

        except if the child is 14 or more years of age at the time of

        the alleged conduct and if any of the following apply:

                (i)  The child has been adjudicated delinquent by a

            court as a result of an act or acts which include the

            elements of rape, kidnapping, murder, robbery, arson,

            burglary, violation of section 13(a)(30) of the act of

            April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled

            Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or other act

            involving the use of or threat of serious bodily harm.

                (ii)  A petition alleging delinquency has been filed

            by a law enforcement agency alleging that the child has

            committed an act or acts which include the elements of

            rape, kidnapping, murder, robbery, arson, burglary,

            violation of section 13(a)(30) of The Controlled



            Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or other act

            involving the use of or threat of serious bodily harm and

            the child previously has been adjudicated delinquent by a

            court as a result of an act or acts which included the

            elements of one of such crimes.

                [(iii)  The child is a dangerous juvenile offender.]

            (2)  If the conduct of the child meets the requirements

        for disclosure as set forth in paragraph (1), then the court

        or law enforcement agency, as the case may be, shall disclose

        the name, age and address of the child, the offenses charged

        and the disposition of the case. The master or judge who

        adjudicates a child delinquent shall specify the particular

        offenses and counts thereof which the child is found to have

        committed and such information shall be inserted on any law

        enforcement records or files disclosed to the public as

        provided for in this section.

        (c)  Fingerprints and photographs.--

            (1)  Law enforcement officers shall have the authority to

        take or cause to be taken the fingerprints or photographs, or

        both, of any child who is alleged to have committed [a

        delinquent act that, but for the application of this chapter,

        would constitute a felony or a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61

        Subch. A (relating to uniform firearms act).] an act

        designated as a misdemeanor or felony under the laws of this

        Commonwealth or of another state if the act occurred in that

        state or under Federal law.

            (2)  Fingerprint and photographic records may be

        disseminated to law enforcement officers of other

        jurisdictions, the Pennsylvania State Police and the Federal

        Bureau of Investigation [if a child has, on the basis of a

        felony or a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 Subch. A, been

        adjudicated delinquent or found guilty in a criminal

        proceeding.] and may be used for investigative purposes.

            (3)  Fingerprints and photographic records of children

        shall be kept separately from adults and  shall be immediately

        destroyed upon notice of the court as provided under section

        6341(a) (relating to adjudication)  by all persons and

        agencies having these records if the child is not adjudicated

        delinquent or not found guilty in a criminal proceeding for

        reason of the alleged acts.

      § 6309.  Juvenile history record information.

        (a)  Applicability of Criminal History Record Information

     Act.--Except for 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 9105 (relating to other criminal

     justice information), 9112(a) and (b) (relating to mandatory

     fingerprinting) and 9113 (relating to disposition reporting by

     criminal justice agencies), the remaining provisions of 18

     Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record information)

     shall apply to all [dangerous juvenile offenders] alleged

     delinquents  whose fingerprints and photographs are taken

     pursuant to section 6308(c) (relating to law enforcement

     records) and to any juvenile justice agency which collects,

     maintains, disseminates or receives juvenile history record

     information.

        (b)  Central repository.--The Pennsylvania State Police shall

     establish a Statewide central repository of fingerprints,



     photographs and juvenile history record information of

     [dangerous juvenile offenders] alleged delinquents  whose

     fingerprints and photographs are taken pursuant to section

     6308(c). [This repository may be combined with a repository of

     similar information on adult offenders, as provided in 18

     Pa.C.S. Ch. 91.]

        (c)  Fingerprints and photographs.--The [court of proper

     jurisdiction] arresting authority  shall ensure that the

     fingerprints and photographs of [a dangerous juvenile offender]

     an alleged delinquent  whose fingerprints and photographs which

     have been taken by an arresting authority pursuant to section

     6308(c) are forwarded to the central repository . [within 48

     hours after a dangerous juvenile offender has been adjudicated

     delinquent.

        (d)  Disposition reporting.--The division or judge of the

     court assigned to conduct juvenile hearings shall collect and

     submit juvenile history record information to the central

     repository within 90 days of an adjudication of delinquency. The

     division or judge of the court assigned to conduct juvenile

     hearings shall continually update juvenile history record

     information as required by the Juvenile Court Judges'

     Commission.]

        (e)  Definitions.--As used in this section , the following

     words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this

     subsection:

        "Criminal history record information."  In addition to the

     meaning in 18 Pa.C.S. § 9102 (relating to definitions), the term

     includes the meaning of juvenile history record information as

     defined in this subsection.

        "Juvenile history record information."  Information collected

     pursuant to this section concerning [dangerous juvenile

     offenders] alleged delinquents  whose fingerprints and

     photographs are taken pursuant to section 6308(c) and arising

     from the filing of a petition of delinquency, consisting of

     identifiable descriptions, dates and notations of arrests,

     indictments, information or other delinquency charges and any

     adjudication of delinquency, informal adjustment, consent decree

     or preadjudication disposition other than dismissal arising

     therefrom. Juvenile history record information shall not include

     intelligence information, investigative information, treatment

     information, including medical and psychiatric information,

     caution indicator information, modus operandi information,

     wanted persons information, stolen property information, missing

     persons information, employment history information, personal

     history information or presentence investigation information.

      § 6341.  Adjudication.

        (a)  General rule.--After hearing the evidence on the

     petition the court shall make and file its findings as to

     whether the child is a dependent child, or if the petition

     alleges that the child is delinquent, whether the acts ascribed

     to the child were committed by him. If the court finds that the

     child is not a dependent child or that the allegations of

     delinquency have not been established it shall dismiss the

     petition and order the child discharged from any detention or

     other restriction theretofore ordered in the proceeding. For



     cases involving allegations of delinquency where fingerprints or

     photographs or both have been taken by a law enforcement agency

     and where it is determined that acts ascribed to the child were

     not committed by him, the court shall direct that those records

     be immediately destroyed by law enforcement agencies.

        * * *

        Section 2.  This act shall take effect in 60 days.

     APPROVED--The 15th day of March, A. D. 1995.

     THOMAS J. RIDGE


