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     HB 227

                                  AN ACT

     Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania

        Consolidated Statutes, providing for the offense of assault

        on sports official and for penalties for the offense; and

        further providing for the sale of tobacco.

        The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

     hereby enacts as follows:

        Section 1.  Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated

     Statutes is amended by adding a section to read:

      § 2712.  Assault on sports official.

        (a)  Offense defined.--A person who violates section 2701

     (relating to simple assault), where the victim is a sports

     official who was assaulted during a sports event or was

     assaulted as a result of his or her official acts as a sports

     official, is guilty of assault on a sports official.

        (b)  Grading.--Assault on a sports official is a misdemeanor

     of the first degree.

        (c)  Definitions.--As used in this section, the following

     words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this

     subsection:

        "Sports event."  Any interscholastic athletic activity in a

     junior high school, high school, college or university in this

     Commonwealth or any other organized athletic activity in this

     Commonwealth, including a professional or semiprofessional

     event.

        "Sports official."  A person at a sports event who enforces

     the rules of the event, such as an umpire or referee, or a

     person who supervises the participants, such as a coach. The

     term includes a trainer, team attendant, game manager, athletic

     director, assistant athletic director, president, dean,

     headmaster, principal and assistant principal of a school,

     college or university.

        Section 2.  Section 6305 of Title 18 is amended to read:

      § 6305.  Sale of tobacco.

        (a)  Offense defined.-- A person is guilty of a summary

     offense if he :

            (1)  sells tobacco, in any form, to any minor under the

        age of [16 years, or] 18 years;

            (2)  by purchase, gift or other means, furnishes tobacco,

        in any form, to a minor under the age of [16 years.] 18

        years; or

            (3)  knowingly and falsely represents himself to be 18

        years of age or older to another for the purpose of procuring



        or having furnished to him tobacco in any form.

        (b)  Penalty.--A person who violates this section shall, upon

     conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $25 for

     a first offense and not less than $100 for a subsequent offense.

        Section 3.  This act shall take effect immediately.

     APPROVED--The 14th day of February, A. D. 1990.

     ROBERT P. CASEY


