SUPPLEMENTARY ACT, PILOTAGE RATES

Act of May 11, 1889, P.L. 188, No. 210 Cl. 74
A FURTHER SUPPLEMENT

To an act, entitled "An act to establish a board of wardens for
the Port of Philadelphia, and for the regulation of pilots
and pilotage, and for other purposes," approved March
twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and three, and for
regulating the rates of pilotage and number of pilots.
Section 1. (1 repealed Apr. 3, 1981, P.L.4, No.2)

Section 2. That in case a pilot having charge of a vessel,
and whilst conducting said vessel be detained, either by order
of the master, owner or consignee of the vessel or by ice or
by any other unavoidable circumstance, not personal to himself,
the pilot shall receive compensation for such detention at the
rate of three dollars per day, each and every day so detained,
commencing at a period of twenty four hours from the time the
detention first occurred.

Section 3. (3 repealed Apr. 3, 1981, P.L.4, No.2)

Section 3.1. For services rendered on and after January 1,
1990, retroactively, the rates of pilotage for conducting a
vessel from the Capes of the Delaware to a place on the Delaware
River or Bay no further upriver than the Delair Railroad Bridge
between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Delair, New Jersey, Or
from a place on the river Delaware no further upriver than the
Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and
Delair, New Jersey, to the Capes of the Delaware, in either
case, shall be computed as follows:

(a) A charge, to be known as a unit charge, will be made
for each pilotage, determined by length overall (in feet)
multiplied by the extreme breadth (in feet) of the vessel,
divided by one hundred.

(a.1) For the purposes of this act, the following
definitions shall be applied:

"Extreme breadth" shall be the maximum breadth between the
outside of the shell platings of the vessel.

"Length overall" shall be the distance between the forward
and after extremities of the vessel.

"Measurements" shall be in feet and inches (United States).
Inches shall be converted as follows:

.1 4" = .3 7" = .6 10" = .8

.2 5" = .4 8" = .7 11" = .9

3" = .3 6" = .5 9" = .8

)  The charges per unit shall be as follows:

) (Deleted by amendment)

i) (Deleted by amendment)

ii) (Deleted by amendment)

v) (Deleted by amendment)

) (Deleted by amendment)

i) (Deleted by amendment)

ii) (Deleted by amendment)

iii) (Deleted by amendment)

X) (Deleted by amendment)

) (Deleted by amendment)

i) Effective January 1, 2022............ $14.91 per unit

ii) Effective January 1, 2023........... $15.66 per unit

iii) Effective January 1, 2024.......... $16.44 per unit

iv) Effective January 1, 2025........... $17.26 per unit

b) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)

c) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units

and a maximum unit charge as follows:

(1) (Deleted by amendment)



(id) (Deleted by amendment)

(iidi) (Deleted by amendment)

(iv) (Deleted by amendment)

(v) (Deleted by amendment)

(vi) (Deleted by amendment)

(vii) (Deleted by amendment)

(viii) (Deleted by amendment)

(ix) (Deleted by amendment)

(x) (Deleted by amendment)

(x1) Effective January 1, 2022............ 1,550 units
(xii) Effective January 1, 2023........... 1,550 units
(xiii) Effective January 1, 2024.......... 1,550 units
(xiv) Effective January 1, 2025........... 1,550 units
(

(c) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)

(3.1 amended June 28, 2019, P.L.216, No.26)

Section 3.2. That every ship or vessel bound to the Delaware
breakwater for orders shall be obliged to receive a pilot,
provided she is spoken or a pilot offers his services, outside
of a straight line drawn from Cape Henlopen Light to Cape May
Light, and every ship or vessel bound to the breakwater for
orders shall pay pilotage fees as follows: A sum equal to half
the pilotage to the Port of Philadelphia, and she shall be
obliged to take a pilot and pay the same pilotage fees when
outward bound, from the breakwater, and if such ship or vessel,
without discharging her pilot, proceed to the Port of
Philadelphia or any other port or place on the bay or river
Delaware, only one full pilotage fee as fixed by section 3.1
of this act, for the entire service, in addition to the fee for
detention: Provided, however, That if the pilot bringing such
ship or vessel to the breakwater be there discharged, and the
ship or vessel afterward proceed to Philadelphia or any other
port or place on the bay or river Delaware, she shall make the
usual signal for a pilot and continue to make such signal till
reaching Brandywine Light, and if spoken by, or offered the
services of, a duly licensed Pennsylvania pilot before reaching
Brandywine Light, shall be obliged to employ such pilot and pay
him for services rendered on and after the effective date of
this act, a charge computed as follows:

(a) A charge, to be known as a unit charge, will be made
for each pilotage, determined by length overall (in feet)
multiplied by the extreme breadth (in feet) of the vessel,
divided by one hundred.

(a.1) For the purposes of this act, the following
definitions shall be applied:

"Extreme breadth" shall be the maximum breadth between the
outside of the shell platings of the wvessel.

"Length overall" shall be the distance between the forward
and after extremities of the vessel.

"Measurements" shall be in feet and inches (United States).
Inches shall be converted as follows:

1" = .1 4m = .3 7" = .6 10" = .8
2" = .2 5" = .4 8" = .7 11" = .9
3" = .3 6" = .5 o" = .8

) The charges per unit shall be as follows:
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) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)
) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units
and a maximum unit charge as follows:
i) (Deleted by amendment)
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(x) (Deleted by amendment)

(x1) Effective January 1, 2022............ $14.91 per unit
(xii) Effective January 1, 2023........... $15.66 per unit
(xidii) Effective January 1, 2024.......... $16.44 per unit
(x1iv) Effective January 1, 2025........... $17.26 per unit
( (b

(c

(c) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)
3.2 amended June 28, 2019, P.L.216, No.26)
Section 3.3. The following charges are hereby authorized
for the services stated:
(1) Ship communication charge:
Vessels transiting the Delaware River......... $275.00
((1) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)
(2) Transporting vessels in the Delaware:

(

(id) (Deleted by amendment)

(iidi) (Deleted by amendment)

(iv) (Deleted by amendment)

(v) (Deleted by amendment)

(vi) (Deleted by amendment)
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(viii) (Deleted by amendment)

(ix) (Deleted by amendment)
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(x1) Effective January 1, 2022............ 1,550 units
(xii) Effective January 1, 2023........... 1,550 units
(xiii) Effective January 1, 2024.......... 1,550 units
(xiv) Effective January 1, 2025........... 1,550 units
(

(

Philadelphia (or other place) to Marcus Hook.. 1,000.00
Philadelphia (or other place) below Marcus Hook 1,000.00
Philadelphia Harbor to Torresdale............. 1,000.00
Philadelphia Harbor to any place above

o bt = =Y I Y 1,200.00

((2) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)
(3) Extra services:
Swing ship to adjust magnetic compass......... 300.00
Swing ship to calibrate direction finder..... 300.00
Vessels anchoring below Brown Shoal in excess

of three hours awaiting flood tide for transiting

river channel .. ..ttt ittt ittt ettt eeeeeenens 500.00
Carried to/from BaltimOre.......e.eeeeeeenennn. 600.00
Carried to/from NorfolK.......ooieiiiieeeenenn. 1,000.00
Carried to/from New YorK....o.o.ooiw'eoieeeeeenn. 1,000.00

Vessels entering the Capes for anchorage at the Breakwater for
other than tide shall pay one-half pilotage in and one-half
pilotage out.

((3) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)

(4) Chesapeake and Delaware Canal:

Vessels transiting the Chesapeake and Delaware
Canal:

Vessels with a length overall of less than 650

Y 1,000.00
Vessels with a length overall of 650 feet or

0 1,500.00
(5) Cancellation of sailing orders:
Cancellation Charge... ..o ettt eeeeneeennnns 1,000.00

Any time a pilot is dispatched for sailing and the trip or
movement is canceled, for reason other than weather, the vessel



shall be subject to this charge, except when the Pilot Office
is notified as follows:

All piers north of Hog Island- 1 1/2 hours before sailing

time.

All piers north of Paulsboro - 2 hours before sailing time.

All piers south of the above - 3 hours before sailing time.

((5) amended July 7, 2022, P.L.451, No.39)

(6) Finance charge:
A finance charge not to exceed one and one-half per centum per
month or fraction thereof may be assessed against all invoices
outstanding more than thirty days after the billing date, and
the cost of attorney fees on any amount placed with an attorney
for collection may also be charged.

(3.3 amended Nov. 4, 2016, P.L.1148, No.148)

Compiler's Note: Section 3 of Act 62 of 1998, which amended
section 3.3, provided that the amendment of section 3.3
shall apply on or after January 1, 1999.

Section 4. Vessels employed in and licensed for the coasting
trade shall be exempt from the duty of employing a pilot, and
the vessels as well as their masters, owners, agents or
consignees, shall be exempt from the duty of paying pilotage,
half-pilotage or any penalty whatsoever, in case of their
neglect or refusal so to do, except ships or vessels under
register, bound to or from the States or territories of the
United States on the Pacific Ocean; but a coastwise vessel,
voluntarily taking a pilot, shall pay a fee which is no more
than the fee for pilotage as prescribed in the case of a vessel
bound to or from a foreign port.

(4 amended July 11, 1969, P.L.158, No.64)

Section 5. (5 repealed June 23, 1993, P.L.111, No.26)

Section 6. That each and every pilot holding a license from
the Board of Commissioners of Navigation, at the time of the
passage of this act, shall be entitled to demand and receive a
license as a pilot, and demand and receive renewals from time
to time thereafter; but no person shall receive a license as a
first class pilot till the number of first class pilots be
reduced to less than forty-two, and that the whole number of
first class pilots shall not exceed forty-two. That the number
of second, third and fourth class pilots shall not exceed ten,
and that the number of apprentices indentured shall be wholly
within the discretion of the Board of Commissioners of
Navigation.

(6 amended Dec. 23, 1977, P.L.354, No.108)



