Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
07/24/2024 09:38 PM
Pennsylvania State Senate
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session


Posted: March 9, 2020 03:49 PM
From: Senator Gene Yaw and Sen. Scott Martin
To: All Senate members
Subject: Resolution recognizing the Chesapeake Bay Commission on its 40th Anniversary
In the near future, we intend to offer a Senate Resolution recognizing the Chesapeake Bay Commission on its 40th Anniversary.

Established in 1980, the Commission is a tri-state legislative body advising the General Assemblies of Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia on matters of ‘Bay-wide’ concern. It is a policy leader in the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay, whose mission is to identify critical environmental needs, evaluate public concerns, and ensure state and federal actions to sustain the living resources of the Chesapeake Bay. It is the only legislative branch signatory of the Chesapeake Bay Agreements.

Over the years, the Commission has championed important legislative and policy initiatives at the state and federal level, including bi-state blue crab management, nutrient management, agricultural conservation funding, and open space preservation, among other issues and initiatives. One of the primary goals of the Commission is to continue focusing attention on the Susquehanna River watershed, the single-largest tributary to the Chesapeake Bay, supplying over 50 percent of the freshwater flowing into the Bay.

We hope you join us in recognizing the Chesapeake Bay Commission on its 40 years of service to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

View Attachment

Introduced as SR319