Legislation Quick Search
06/06/2020 02:25 PM
Pennsylvania State Senate
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=S&SPick=20190&cosponId=30110
Share:
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: August 15, 2019 04:45 PM
From: Senator Patrick M. Browne and Sen. Daniel Laughlin
To: All Senate members
Subject: Indoor Tanning Age Minimum Age of 18
 
In 2014, the General Assembly passed Act 41, which provides for the regulation of indoor tanning facilities, and established the Indoor Tanning Regulation Fund. Act 41 provides that no one 16 years of age or younger shall use a tanning facility, and that a 17 year old requires parental consent to use a tanning facility.

The American Cancer Society estimated 76,690 new cases of melanoma in the United States in 2013, and 9,480 deaths as a result of the disease. Risk factors for melanoma include sun exposure and sunburn, blistering sunburns during childhood or teenage years, fair skin, freckles, moles, and a family history of melanoma. High risk exposure to ultraviolet light happens more commonly in teens than across other age groups, and blistering sunburn and overexposure to ultraviolet light during childhood greatly increase the chance of developing skin cancer later in life. As a result, at least 44 states have taken steps to regulate the use of tanning devices by minors, and 19 states have banned the use of ultraviolet tanning devices by anyone under age 18.

In the near future, we intend to introduce legislation that would increase the minimum age for the use of an indoor tanning device to 18. The legislation will also provide that entities who violate the provisions of the act regarding a minor’s use of a tanning device shall be subject to a civil penalty of fines that range from $250.00 for the first violation, $500 for the second violation, and $1000.00 for the third and any subsequent violations. All fines imposed for a violation of this act will be paid into the Indoor Tanning Regulation Fund.



Introduced as SB909