Legislation Quick Search
04/13/2021 10:58 PM
Pennsylvania State Senate
Home / Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Senate Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

Senate of Pennsylvania
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session


Posted: April 22, 2019 12:58 PM
From: Senator Christine M. Tartaglione
To: All Senate members
Subject: Assault on Public Transportation Employees
In the near future, I plan to re-introduce legislation, formerly SB 165 of 2017-2018, which would provide heightened penalties for offenses committed against public transportation employees. The intent of this legislation is to reduce and eliminate future assaults against such employees.

Under current law, a protected class of public servants has been created under section 2702 (c) of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses). This class, which does not include public transportation employees, receives protection from additional offenses of aggravated assault while performing assigned job duties.

Unfortunately, at this time, public transportation workers are only protected from an offense of aggravated assault if a person attempts to cause or intentionally, knowingly or recklessly cause serious bodily injury—a first degree felony offense. No second-degree felony offenses of aggravated assault against public transportation employees exist.

As the number of assaults on transit workers continue to rise each year, our legislation would include public transportation employees in the protected class of employees found under section 2702 (c) of Title 18. This would provide for additional offenses of aggravated assault against public transportation employees to ensure they receive protection equal to that of other public servants under the law.

Please join me in co-sponsoring this legislation and help protect all public transportation employees throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Members who co-sponsored this legislation previously include Senators Brewster, Costa, Rafferty, and Hughes.

View Attachment

Introduced as SB632