Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
07/18/2024 11:34 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20230&cosponId=42794
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications
NEW!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


House of Representatives
Session of 2023 - 2024 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: June 3, 2024 04:29 PM
From: Representative Bridget M. Kosierowski
To: All House members
Subject: Education requirements for used vehicle dealers
 
In the last few years, the Office of Attorney General filed suit against several independent (used) motor vehicle dealers for violating consumer protection laws.  Most of the violations involved a lack of education and training about a law, not the willful intent to disobey it.  Misunderstanding paperwork requirements is a source of constant frustration.
 
Without training, independent dealers frequently don’t know what they must do to be compliant with the various agencies they deal with, including PennDOT, Banking and Securities, Revenue, or the Attorney General’s office. While a new car dealer can contact a manufacturer for answers and support, used car dealers do not have that luxury and often have no one to turn to for assistance.
 
To remedy this problem, I plan to introduce legislation that amends the Board of Vehicles Act to require online or in-person education for independent used vehicle dealers. The bill will require 20 hours of education for new applicants for licensure and two hours of continuing education for license renewals.  Used vehicle dealers that have been in operation for 10 years or longer will be exempt from the requirements.  New vehicle dealers will also be exempt.
 
Education requirements for used vehicle dealers have been enacted in 11 states: California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Virginia and Washington.
 
Requiring independent motor vehicle dealer education and training will better protect consumers, improve efficiency and reduce complaints to the Attorney General.  Please join me in sponsoring this important legislation.
 
 



Introduced as HB2442