Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
07/23/2024 10:29 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2023 - 2024 Regular Session


Posted: March 12, 2024 09:54 AM
From: Representative Doyle Heffley
To: All House members
Subject: Jim Thorpe Day in Pennsylvania
In the near future, I will introduce a resolution to designate May 28, 2024 as Jim Thorpe Day in Pennsylvania.

Jacobus Franciscus Thorpe was born on May 28, 1888 near Prague, Oklahoma and was a member of the Native American Sac and Fox nation. He attended the Carlisle Indian Industrial School, where he played football and was awarded All-American honors in 1911 and 1912. In 1912 he represented the United States as the Olympic Games in Stockholm where he became the first American athlete to win the pentathlon and decathlon in one Olympic year.

Jim Thorpe played baseball for the New York Giants, Cincinnati Reds and Boston Braves; football for Canton Bulldogs; and basketball for two years after his retirement from professional football. While coaching and playing for the Canton Bulldogs he became the American Professional Football Association's first president.

Jim Thorpe's final resting place is Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, which was renamed Jim Thorpe in 1954 after this exceptional athlete. After his death, he was inducted into the Football Hall of Fame, voted America's Greatest All-Around Athlete, named ABC's Wide World of Sports Athlete of the Century and served as a namesake for the Jim Thorpe Award which was established in 1986 for the best defensive back in college football.

Please consider co-sponsoring this resolution.

Introduced as HR348