|Posted:||July 18, 2022 11:30 AM|
|From:||Representative Angel Cruz|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Mental Health Reporting Requirements|
|Responsible firearms sales depend on the timely reporting of records to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the background check prior to purchasing a gun. Unfortunately, laws governing the notification of individuals with a mental health record that prohibits firearm possession have not been updated since the mid- '90s. Currently, judges of the courts of common pleas must notify state police of an individual's adjudication, involuntary treatment, or commitment within seven days. That's seven days wherein information disqualifying an individual from purchasing a firearm would not appear during the background check process.
The timely reporting of individuals prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm is critical to the accuracy and effectiveness of the background check system. For these reasons, I will be re-introducing a legislative package to reduce the timeframe for notification from seven days to between 72 and 96 hours. This would align standards more closely with similar reporting measures already in place nationwide.
Cutting notification timeframes in half will improve the quality and completeness of firearms background checks and reduce the risk of serious incidents. Please join me in supporting this legislation.
Introduced as HB2760
|Description:||Amends the Mental Health Procedures Act to require judges of the courts of common pleas, mental health review officers, and county mental health and intellectual disabilities administrators to notify Pennsylvania State Police between 72 and 96 hours of an individual’s mental health adjudication, commitment, or treatment.
Introduced as HB2759
|Description:||Amends Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) to require judges of the courts of common pleas to notify Pennsylvania State Police between 72 and 96 hours of an individual’s mental health adjudication, commitment, or treatment.